• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

BJP wins by itself in WB assembly, for the first time

Kolkata, Sept 16: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) made its debut in the West Bengal assembly on Tuesday when its candidate Shamik Bhattacharya defeated ruling Trinamool Congress's footballer candidate Dipendu Bishwas at Basirhat South constituency by a thin margin of 1,200 votes.

Bhattacharya, who had lost the Lok Sabha election from the state earlier this year, was trailing Bishwas by over 17,000 votes at the half-way stage but made it up by winning by a margin of over 18,000 votes in the urban pockets.

The seat fell vacant after the death of CPI(M)'s Narayan Mukherjee who won there in the 2011 assembly elections.

The battle for the Basirhat South constituency was a prestigious one as 17 TMC ministers of the state had camped there ahead of the polling to tackle the BJP factor. But yet the ruling party could not stop the BJP from winning its first seat in the assembly. Reacting to the victory, Bhattacharya said it is a victory of the people of Bengal.

In 1999, BJP's Badal Bhattacharya had won a bypoll from Ashoknagar but then the BJP was in alliance with the Trinamool Congress.

In another bypoll, TMC's Nayana Bandyopadhyay, wife of party's PM Sudip Bandyopadhyay, won from Chowringee seat.

Oneindia News

Kolkata Dakshin Fact Check
  • SC
  • ST

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more