• search
For Kolkata Updates
Allow Notification  

Bengal polls 2016: Top 10 contests of phase 4 on April 25


Kolkata, April 23: Out of 49 seats going to polls in phase 4 of the Assembly election in West Bengal on Monday (April 25), 10 will be particularly interesting to watch as they involve high-profile and celebrity candidates.

Assembly Polls 2016 Coverage; List of 49 constituencies going to polls on April 25

Here is a look at those 10 seats and their results in 2011:

Khardaha (North 24 Parganas district):

Trinamool Congress's (TMC) Amit Mitra vs Left's Asim Dasgupta. The BJP has fielded Mahadeb Basak from this seat.

2011 results: Amit Mitra defeated Asim Dasgupta by 26,154 votes [his vote share was 56.49 per cent]

amit mitra and asim dasgupta

Dum Dum North (N 24-Pgs):

TMC's Chandrima Bhattacharya versus Left's Tanmay Bhattacharya. The BJP has fielded Tapan Das.

2011 results: Chandrima Bhattacharya defeated CPI(M)'s Rekha Goswami by 19,026 votes [her vote-share was 53.43 per cent]

chandrima bhattacharya

Kamarhati (N 24-Pgs):

TMC's Madan Mitra versus Left's Manas Mukherjee. The BJP has fielded Krishanu Mitra.

2011 results: Madan Mitra defeated Manas Mukherjee by 24,354 votes [his vote-share was 59.76 per cent]

madan mitra

Dum Dum (N 24-Pgs):

TMC's Bratya Basu versus Left's Palash Das. The BJP has fielded Uma Das Singha

2011 results: Bratya Basu defeated CPI(M)'s Gautam Deb by 31,497 votes [his vote share was 57.50 per cent]

bratya basu

Bidhannagar (N 24 Pgs):

TMC's Sujit Basu versus Congress's Arunava Ghosh. The BJP has fielded Susanta Ranjan Pal.

2011 results: Sujit Basu defeated CPI(M)'s Palash Das by 35,925 votes [his vote-share was 59.53 per cent]

Rajarhat-Gopalpur (N 24 Pgs):

TMC's Purnendu Basu versus Left's Nepaldeb Bhattacharya. The BJP has fielded Dilip Mitra.

2011 results: Purnendu Basu defeated CPI(M)'s Rabindranath Mandal by 35,725 votes [his vote-share was 59.76 per cent]

Barasat (N 24 Pgs):

TMC's Chiranjeet Chakraborty versus Left's Sanjib Chattapadhyay. The BJP has fielded Dilip Mitra.

2011 results: Chiranjeet Chakraborty defeated Sanjib Chattapadhyay by 40,211 votes [his vote-share was 58.28 per cent]

chiranjeet chakraborty

Basirhat South (N 24 Pgs):

BJP's Samik Bhattacharjee versus TMC's Dipendu Biswas. The Congress has fielded Amit Majumdar.

2011 results: Left's Narayan Mukherjee defeated TMC's Narayan Goswami by 12,400 votes [his vote-share was 35.94 per cent]. However, in the bypoll held in September 2014 after Mukherjee's death, the BJP bagged this seat after Samik Bhattacharjee narrowly defeated Dipendu Biswas. The BJP's votes increased from 7,282 in 2011 to over 71,000 in 2014.

samik bhattacharya

Bally (Howrah):

TMC's Vaishali Dalmiya versus Left's Anjan Bera. The BJP has fielded Kaushik Chakraborty.

2011 results: TMC's Sultan Singh defeated CPI(M)'s Kanika Ganguly by 6,600 votes [his vote-share was 50.42 per cent]

vaishali dalmiya

Howrah North (Howrah):

TMC's Laxmi Ratan Shukla versus BJP's Roopa Ganguly versus Congress's Santosh Kumar Pathak.

2011 results: TMC's Ashoke Ghosh defeated CPI(M)'s Nimai Samanta by 19,608 votes [49.25 per cent]

Roopa Ganguly and Laxmi Ratan Shukla

Oneindia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more