Kerala Assembly Elections 2021

Kodungallur Assembly Election Results 2021

Kodungallur is an assembly constituency in Kerala. In 2016, this constituency was won by the Communist Party Of India. Stay tuned with OneIndia for all the updates regarding this constituency. From campaign to election results, read all about Kodungallur Vidhan Sabha (MLA) Constituency. Find out the winners, losers, victory margin and all other details in our special page. Kodungallur under Thrissur district of Kerala State.

M.P. Jackson (INC), V. R. Sunil Kumar (CPI), Santhosh Chirakulam (BJP) are key candidates contesting from Kodungallur constituency in the 2021 Kerala Assembly elections along with many other independent candidates.

In 2016 Kerala Assembly elections, the total percentage of voters in Kodungallur Assembly Constituency was recorded as 45.71 percent.

In 2016, V R Sunilkumar of Communist Party Of India won the seat by defeating K P Dhanapalan from Indian National Congress with a margin of 22791 votes.
Kodungallur Assembly constituency is falling under Chalakudy Lok sabha constituency. In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Indian National Congress candidate Benny Behanan won from Chalakudy Lok Sabha (MP) Seat with the margin of 132274 votes by defeating Innocent from Communist Party of India (Marxist).

Date of Polling: Tuesday, 06 April 2021
Date of Counting: Sunday, 02 May 2021
Candidate's Name Party Votes
M.P. Jackson INC NA*
Remya Mohanan BSP NA*
Santhosh Chirakulam BJP NA*
V. R. Sunil Kumar CPI NA*
O. M. Sreeja SUCI NA*
Rajan Painat IND NA*

*Results to be declared on May 2nd, 2021.

Strike Rate
CPI 75%
INC 25%
CPI won 8 times and INC won 1 time since 1977 elections.

Kodungallur Assembly election results (2016)

Candidate's Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
V R Sunilkumar CPI Winner 67,909 45.71% 67,784
Joshy Kumar K V IND 10th 125 0.08%
K P Dhanapalan INC Runner Up 45,118 30.37%
Sangeetha BDJS 3rd 32,793 22.07%
Manaf A K SDPI 5th 558 0.38%
Radhakrishnan C K IND 6th 411 0.28%
Subramanian BSP 7th 367 0.25%
Rajan IND 8th 210 0.14%
C S Krishnakumar SUCI 9th 200 0.13%

Kodungallur Past Election Results

Candidate's Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
V R Sunilkumar CPI Winner 67,909 45.71% 22,791
K P Dhanapalan INC Runner Up 45,118 30.37%
T.n.prathapan INC Winner 64,495 50% 9,432
K.g.sivanandhan CPI Runner Up 55,063 43%
Adv.k.p.rajendran CPI Winner 53,197 46% 2,522
Umesh Challiyil JPSS Runner Up 50,675 44%
Umesh Challiyil JPSS Winner 59,369 51% 11,941
Prof. Meenakshi Thampan CPI Runner Up 47,428 41%
Meenakshy Thamban CPI Winner 51,343 49% 14,109
K.venu IND Runner Up 37,234 35%
Meenakshy Thampan CPI Winner 53,542 50% 11,189
T.a. Ahammed Kabeer MUL Runner Up 42,353 40%
V. K. Rajan CPI Winner 45,251 48% 3,496
K. P. Dhanapalan INC Runner Up 41,755 44%
V. K. Raja CPI Winner 36,404 52% 3,434
Kollikkathara Ravi IND Runner Up 32,970 47%
V. K. Rajan CPI Winner 35,567 51% 2,520
Kollickatharan Ravi IND Runner Up 33,047 48%
V. K. Rajan CPI Winner 32,159 48% 8,111
P. V. Abdul Kader IND Runner Up 24,048 36%
The "ONEINDIA" word mark and logo are owned by Digitech Media Pvt. Ltd.