• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Top US civilian honour goes to 21 artists, athletes, others


Washington, Nov 23: President Barack Obama awarded the nation's highest civilian honour to 21 groundbreaking actors, musicians, athletes and innovators who inspired him over the years and "helped make me who I am."

"Everybody on this stage has touched me in a very powerful, personal way, in ways that they probably couldn't imagine," Obama said in concluding an hour-long ceremony on Tuesday in the White House East Room.

21 receive civilian honour in us

The Presidential Medal of Freedom recognises especially meritorious contributions to the national interests of the United States, its security and its culture. Obama called the 2016 group a "particularly impressive class."

In the film world, Obama honoured Tom Hanks, Robert De Niro, Robert Redford and Cicely Tyson. Michael Jordan and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, two of the greatest basketball players ever, were also among the honorees.

Obama noted how Jordan's name is synonymous with excellence. "There is a reason you call somebody 'the Michael Jordan of,'" Obama said. "The Michael Jordan of neurosurgery, or the Michael Jordan of rabbis, or the Michael Jordan of outrigger canoeing. Everyone knows what you're talking about."

Bruce Springsteen and Diana Ross were recognised for their music. Other honorees included philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates, comedian Ellen DeGeneres and broadcaster Vin Scully. Obama said the people receiving the medal helped push America forward and inspired millions around the world.

Posthumous honors went to Native American advocate Elouise Cobell and Rear Adm Grace Hopper. Others receiving the award included: Richard Garwin, an inventor and polymath physicist who made pioneering contributions to the nation's defense. Frank Gehry, one of the world's leading architects.

Margaret H. Hamilton, a mathematician and computer scientist. Maya Lin, the designer of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Lorne Michaels, producer of "Saturday Night Live" Newton Minow, a former Federal Communications Commission chairman devoted to numerous public and charitable causes. Eduardo Padron, president of Miami Dade College.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more