• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Clinton, Winfrey to get Presidential Medal of Freedom

By Ians

Clinton, Winfrey to be awarded by Obama
Washington, Nov 14: US President Barack Obama is to award the Presidential Medal of Freedom to luminaries including former president Bill Clinton and talk show hostess Oprah Winfrey, the White House said on Wednesday.

The recipients of this year's award will also include former senator Daniel Inouye (posthumously), executive editor of The Washington Post in the Watergate era Ben Bradlee, baseball player Ernie Banks, former senator Richard Lugar and first female astronaut of the country Sally Ride, Xinhua reported citing a White House statement.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is America's highest civilian honour, along with the comparable Congressional Gold Medal bestowed by the Congress. It is presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the US, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavours.

The award ceremony is to take place at the White House on Nov 20.

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the executive order, signed by former president John F. Kennedy, establishing the Presidential Medal of Freedom, as well as the first ceremony bestowing the honour on an inaugural class of 31 recipients.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more