• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

With 61 of 69 seats, how BJP took the Hindi Heartland back

By Anuj Cariappa

New Delhi, May 25: The BJP has won 61 of 65 Lok Sabha seats in the three Hindi heartland states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan that the Congress won in the Assembly polls barely five months ago. The saffron party has bagged 28 of 29 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 24 of 25 in Rajasthan and nine of 11 in Chhattisgarh.

The Congress, its main competitor, has been wiped out in the three states it governs.

In Madhya Pradesh, the Congress managed to bag just Chhindwara, from where chief minister Kamal Nath's son Nakul Kamal Nath won by 37,536 votes.

With 61 of 69 seats, how BJP took the Hindi Heartland back

Kamal Nath, a long time MP from Chhindwara, had to vacate the seat when he took over as chief minister in December last by elbowing out BJP's Shivraj Singh Chouhan government.

Nakul Nath got 5.86 lakh votes over his nearest rival BJP's Nathansaha Kawreti's 5.48 lakh votes.

Election Results 2019: BJP wins 303 seats, Congress settles for 52, as per EC

The BJP wave swept away senior Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia, who lost his stronghold Guna constituency in the state.

Scindia, a scion of the erstwhile royal family, lost the seat by a margin of over 1.25 lakh votes to BJP's Krishna Pal Singh.

In the 2014 general elections, BJP won 27 seats and lost two seats -- Guna and Chhindwara -- to Congress.

In neighbouring Chhattisgarh, where BJP changed all its sitting Lok Sabha members, the saffron party won nine seats, leaving Congress with just the Bastar and Korba constituencies. Both these seats were won by the BJP in 2014.

BJP won 10 of 11 seats in Chhattisgarh in the last Lok Sabha polls.

Chhattisgarh also saw a change of government last year. Three-time chief minister Raman Singh lost to Congress party in the Assembly elections. Bhupesh Baghel is now the chief minister of Naxal-affected state after 15 years of BJP rule.

Lok Sabha elections results 2019: Full list of winners state-wise

In Rajasthan, the Congress, led by Ashok Gehlot in the state, could not win a single Lok Sabha seat. While the BJP took away 24, the remaining seat of Nagaur was bagged by newly formed Rashtriya Loktantrik Party's Hanuman Beniwal.

Beniwal, who formed the party ahead of the Assembly polls in the state, got 6.55 lakh votes against Congress' Jyoti Mirdha's 4.76 lakh votes.

The BJP won all the 25 Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan in the 2014 polls.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more