• search
For Varanasi Updates
Allow Notification  

Will Priyanka Gandhi be the joint opposition candidate from Varanasi?


New Delhi, Apr 01: The contest in Varanasi from where Prime Minister, Narendra Modi is contesting is expected to be an interesting one. In the past couple of days there have been several indications that Priyanka Gandhi is likely to contest from Varanasi against Modi.

The speculation was triggered off after she told party workers that she could contest from anywhere. A party worker had asked her to contest from her mother's seat in Rae Bareli, to which she replied that she could contest from Varanasi as well.

Will Priyanka Gandhi be the joint opposition candidate from Varanasi?

The Congress has shown interest in her candidature, but realises that in order to put up a strong fight, it would need the support of the other parties as well. The party is understood to have reached out to the BSP and SP in this regard. If reports are to be believed then, the Congress along with the BSP and SP could field Priyanka as a joint candidate from Varanasi.

Should Priyanka Gandhi take on Narendra Modi at Varanasi?

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Modi had polled 5,81,122 votes. He won by a victory margin of 2 lakh votes. The Congress feels that it could reduce this margin greatly if a joint opposition candidate is fielded from Varanasi.

Varanasi Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Narendra Modi BJP Winner 5,81,022 56% 3,71,784
Arvind Kejriwal AAAP Runner Up 2,09,238 20% 0
Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi BJP Winner 2,03,122 31% 17,211
Mukhtar Ansari BSP Runner Up 1,85,911 28% 0
Dr. Rajesh Kumar Mishra INC Winner 2,06,904 33% 57,436
Shankar Prasad Jaiswal BJP Runner Up 1,49,468 24% 0
Shankar Prasad Jaiswal BJP Winner 2,11,955 34% 52,859
Rajesh Kumar Mishra INC Runner Up 1,59,096 25% 0
Shankar Prasad Jaiswal BJP Winner 2,77,232 43% 1,51,946
Deena Nath Singh Yadav CPM Runner Up 1,25,286 19% 0
Shankar Prasad Jaiswal BJP Winner 2,50,991 45% 1,00,692
Raj Kishore CPM Runner Up 1,50,299 27% 0
Sheesh Chandra Dixit BJP Winner 1,86,333 41% 40,439
Raj Kishore CPM Runner Up 1,45,894 32% 0
Anil Shastri JD Winner 2,68,196 62% 1,71,603
Shyam Lal Yadav INC Runner Up 96,593 22% 0
Shyam Lal Yadava INC Winner 1,53,076 42% 94,430
Udal CPI Runner Up 58,646 16% 0
Kamalapati INC(I) Winner 1,29,063 37% 24,735
Raj Narain JNP(S) Runner Up 1,04,328 30% 0
Chandra Shekher BLD Winner 2,33,194 66% 1,71,854
Raja Ram INC Runner Up 61,340 17% 0
Raja Ram Shastri INC Winner 1,38,789 47% 85,848
Kamla Prasad Singh BJS Runner Up 52,941 18% 0
S. N. Singh CPM Winner 1,05,784 38% 18,167
R. Singh INC Runner Up 87,617 31% 0
Raghunath Singh INC Winner 1,04,682 40% 45,907
Raghuvira JS Runner Up 58,775 22% 0
Raghunath Singh INC Winner 1,31,087 54% 71,926
Sheomangal Ram IND Runner Up 59,161 25% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more