• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Who will be next CM of Goa? BJP to decide today when to stake claim to form govt in state

Google Oneindia News

Panaji, Mar 11: Comfortably placed to retain power in Goa, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday said it will take a decision on staking claim to form the next government in the state after a meeting of its newly elected MLAs on Friday.

Who will be next CM of Goa? BJP to decide today when to stake claim to form govt in state

Earlier in the day, a senior party leader had said, the BJP, which emerged as the single largest party winning 20 seats in the 40-member Assembly, will meet Governor P S Sreedharan Pillai and stake claim to form government on Thursday evening.

The BJP has said it has received letters of support from the Maharshtrawadi Gomantak Party (2 seats) and three Independent MLAs, enabling the ruling party to cross the simple majority mark of 21.

BJP's Goa election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis said a decision on staking claim to form the government will be taken on Friday after a meeting of the party's legislature wing. He made the remarks at a press conference in the presence of Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, Goa BJP president Sadanand Tanavade, Union Minister Shripad Naik and other party leaders. Fadnavis said the MGP has formally given a letter to the BJP extending its support to the party in government formation.

"Both the winning candidates of the MGP will support the BJP along with the three Independent MLAs," he said. He said the party's central parliamentary board will meet in New Delhi late on Thursday to discuss the results of all the states, where polls were held in February-March.

"The committee will designate an observer for Goa, who will arrive here tomorrow to participate in the legislature party wing meeting," Fadnavis said.

After the meeting, the party will decide the date to meet the Governor and stake claim for government formation, the former Maharashtra CM said. Fadanavis said that BJP's central leadership will be participating in the swearing in ceremonies of all the four states due to which the dates would be decided accordingly.

Who will be the new Chief Minister of Goa?

Besides incumbent chief minister Pramod Sawant, there three new contenders-deputy chief minister Chandrakant 'Babu' Kavlekar, health minister Vishwajit Rane and transport minister Mauvin Godinho who have thrown their hat in the ring for the top post.

According to reports, while the local Goa BJP unit would back Pramod Sawant, there is a likelihood that the BJP high command may consider Vishwajit Rane as the CM candidate.

When asked whether he is in the race to be the CM, Vishwajit Rane said, "I will follow what the party seniors say. I am just a humble party worker."

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X