• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

West Bengal Municipal Corporation Election Results 2022: TMC makes clean sweep

Google Oneindia News

Kolkata, Feb 14: Mamata Banerjee-led TMC on Monday witnessed a thumping win in the civic polls to four municipal corporations in West Bengal Bidhannagar, Siliguri, Chandernagore and Asansol.

West Bengal Municipal Corporation Election Results 2022: TMC ahead in all seats, BJP trailing

The TMC retained Bidhannagar by winning 39 out of 41 seats, but opposition BJP and the CPI(M) failed to open their account. The Congress managed to bag one seat, and an Independent candidate secured victory in one ward.

In Chandernagore, the TMC bagged 31 of the 32 seats, while the CPI(M) won in one ward.

However, the icing on the cake for the ruling party was snatching the Siliguri Municipal Corporation (SMC) from the CPI(M)-led Left Front, where the TMC pocketed 37 out of 47 seats. The BJP got the opposition status by clinching five seats, whereas the Left was relegated to the third position as it managed to win only four seats, and the Congress one, according to the SEC data.

The TMC's vote share in Siliguri was 78.72 per cent, while the BJP and CPI(M) managed 10.64 per cent and 8.5 per cent of the votes polled, respectively.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee thanked people for her party's "thumping win" in the civic polls, calling it a victory of the masses.

In the 2015 elections, Siliguri was won by the Left Front, while the three other municipal corporations were secured by the TMC. Polls to these civic bodies, along with more than 100 others, had been postponed owing to the Covid-19 pandemic situation and are being governed by administrators.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X