• search
For Varanasi Updates
Allow Notification  

BJP sweeps UP & Bihar, it's all Mamata in West Bengal


West Bengal, Bihar, UP LS Results
Bangalore, May 16: The results of the Lok Sabha election 2014 were declared on May 16. Here are the results in three crucial states of Uttar Pradesh (80 seats), West Bengal (42 seats) and Bihar (40 seats).

Final tally:

West Bengal: TMC 34, Congress 4, BJP 2, Left 2

Bihar: BJP 22, LJP 6, RJD 4, Congress 2, JD(U) 2, RSCP 3, NCP 1

UP: BJP 71, SP 5, Congress 2, Apna Dal 2

8.40 pm: BJP wins 48 seats in UP and 22 in Bihar. Its tally set to increase further.

7:10 pm: TMC wins 34 seats in WB, BJP 2, Congress 4 and CPI(M) 2

7:05 pm: CPI(M )'s Md Salim wins in Raiganj, WB

7:00 pm: Union steel minister Beni Prasad Verma loses to BJP's Kirti Vardhan Singh by over 2 lakh votes in Gonda, UP

6:57 pm: Lalu Prasad says he is not an opportunist, will not congratulate Modi

6:19 pm: Results for 30 seats in WB declared, TMC wins 30

5:51 pm: Rahul Gandhi retains Amethi seat, wins by around 80,000 votes

5:43 pm: Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar (INC) loses to Chhedi Paswan in Sasaram, Bihar

5:42 pm: BJP's Kunwar Bhartendra defeats Shahnawaz Rana of SP in Bijnor

5:40 pm: BJP's Bappi Lahiri loses to TMC's Kalyan Banerjee in Srerampur, West Bengal, TMC's Moon Moon Sen wins from Bankura West Bengal

5:40 pm: Naveen Jindal loses from Kurukshetra, UP

5:36 pm: In WB, results declared for 34 seats. TMC wins 26.

5:30 pm: Sharad Yadav loses from Madhepura (Bihar)

5:27 pm: Priyanka Singh Rawat of BJP wins Barabanki seat defeating PL Punia of INC by 211878 votes.

5:25 pm: Satish Kumar of BJP wins Aligarh seat with a winning margin of 286736 votes

5.18 pm: Adhir Chowdhury wins. JD(U)'s Sharad Yadav loses.

4.35 pm: Recounting in Raiganj constituency in West Bengal after the Congress raised charges of rigging.

4.30 pm: LJP's Ram Vilas Paswan leads from Hajipur.

4.15 pm: Sonia Gandhi wins by over 3 lakh votes.

3.39 pm: BJP's Babul Supriyo wins from Asansol. TMC's Dev wins from Ghatal.

3.25 pm: BJP leads in 11 out of 14 seats in Jharkhand.

3.22 pm: Cong wins Kisanganj seat in Bihar

3.20 pm: BJP's Chandan Mitra loses from Hooghly.

2.29 pm: BJP leads in 24 seats in Bihar.

2.25 pm: Congress's Deepa Dasmunshi loses from Raiganj. Left's Mohammad Salim wins.

2.19 pm: TMC's Subrata Bakshi wins from Kolkata South. Sandhya Roy and Shatabdi Roy also win from Midnapore and Birbhum, respectively.

1.58 pm: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar's house wears a deserted look.

1.56 pm: Mohamed Kaif loses from Phulpur.

1.35 pm: Sonia Gandhi wins from Rae Bareli.

1.23 pm: Trinamool wins two seats, Barrackpore and Ranaghat.

12.30 pm: Trinamool Congress's Deepa Dasmunshi leads from Rajganj.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote" lang="en"><p>Heartiest congratulations to Gen VK Singh!! Shazia Ilmi</p>— shazia ilmi (@shaziailmi) <a href="https://twitter.com/shaziailmi/statuses/467187508389093376">May 16, 2014</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

12.05 pm: TMC's Dinesh Trivedi wins from Barrackpore.

11.45 am: Modi wins from Varanasi.

11.30 am: Rabri Devi trails against BJP's Rajiv Pratap Rudy from Saran.

11.00 am: Shatrughan Sinha leads from Patna Sahib in Bihar.

10.30 am: Mulayam Singh narrowly leads over BJP's Ramakant Yadav from Azamgarh.

10.05 am: BJP gains in Serampore. TMC trails.

10.00 am: BJP leads in 54 seats in UP.

9.59 am: TMC leads in 26 seats in Bengal.

9.47 am: BJP leads in 5 seats in West Bengal.

9.41 am: RLD chief Ajit Singh loses to BJP's Satyapal Singh from Baghpat. He had won here by over 63,000 votes in 2009.

9.50 am: Lalu Prasad's daughter Misa leads in Pataliputra.

9.16 am: TMC leads in 22 seats.

9.15 am: Shazia Ilmi trails in Ghaziabad, Gen VK Singh leads.

9.05 am: BJP's Chandan Mitra leads in Hooghly. TMC's Shatabdi Roy leads in Birbhum.

9.04 am: TMC leads in 16 seats, Left 15. Uma Bharti leads in Jhansi.

9.03 am: Rajnath Singh leads in Lucknow, Hema Malini leads in Mathura.

9.01 am: Abhishek Banerjee, nephew of Mamata Banerjee, leads in Diamond Harbour.

9.00 am: Babul Supriyo leads in West Bengal. Meira Kumar leads in Sasaram.

8.57 am: TMC leads in 15, Left 14 in WB. BJP's Tapan Sikdar leads.

8.54 am: BJP leads in 5 seats, RJD in 1.

8.47 am: Mulayam Singh leads in Mainpuri.

8.45 am: TMC's Suvendu Adhikary leads in Contai, Prasun Bhanerjee leads in Howrah. SP's Dimple Yadav leads in Kannauj.

8.40 am: TMC leads in 10 in Bengal, TMC in 5.

8.36 am: TMC leads in 6 seats in WB, Left in 4 seats.

8.35 am: Arvind Kejriwal trails in Varanasi.

8.29 am: BJP leads in 4 seats in Bihar.

8.28 am: Left leads in 3 seats in WB. TMC leads in 1 seat. SP leads in 2 seats

8.24 am: SP leads in 1 in UP

8.20 am: Left leads in 1 seat in West Bengal

7.54 am: Bihar bans victory processions after results are out.

7.43 am: Section 144 imposed in UP. All victory processions banned.

7.37 am: I don't want a Narendra Modi government at the Centre: Trinamool's Saugata Roy.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote" lang="en"><p>Main nahi chahta hoon ki Modi sarkar aaye,aur main nahi maanta hoon ki Modi sarkar aayegi-Saugata Roy,TMC <a href="http://t.co/q3I1gI5mvW">pic.twitter.com/q3I1gI5mvW</a></p>— ANI (@ANI_news) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI_news/statuses/467117403566915584">May 16, 2014</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

7.35 am: Posters congratulating BJP's PM candidate Modi across Varanasi on the eve of the counting day. All eyes will be on Varanasi where Modi takes on Aam Aadmi Party's Arvind Kejriwal.

Oneindia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more