• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Venkaiah Naidu announces 30 new smart cities

By Chennabasaveshwar

The government on Friday announced the fourth list of smart cities, adding 30 names to the existing 60 cities that are under transformation. Thirty new smart cities were selected which includes Thiruvanathapuram, Rajkot, Amravati, Patna and Srinagar.

The Smart City Mission launched on 25 June 2015 now has 90 cities under it. Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu released the list of new smart cities taking the total number of smart cities to 90. Total 100 cities were supposed to be selected for the Smart Cities Mission in total.

For the remaining 10 spots, 20 cities are in competition - Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh, Biharsharif in Bihar, Diu in Daman & Diu, Silvassa in Dadra and Nager Haveli, Kavaratti in Lakshadweep, Navi Mumbai, Greater Mumbai and Amaravati in Maharashtra, Imphal in Manipur, Shillong in Meghalaya, Dindigul and Erode in Tamil Nadu, Bidhannagar, Durgapur and Haldia in West Bengal, Meerut, Rai Bareilly, Ghaziabad, Sharanpur and Rampur in U.P.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X