• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Uttarakhand: 9 disqualified MLAs cannot vote in floor test on Tuesday


New Delhi, May 9: The Supreme Court today denied interim relief to the 9 disqualified MLAs in the Uttarakhand assembly.

As a result of this order the 9 MLAs who were disqualified will not be able to vote in the floor test to be held on Tuesday at Uttarakhand. The court posted hearing on the matter to July 12.

Uttarakhand: 9 disqualified MLAs cannot vote in floor test on Tuesday

The nine disqualified MLAs had moved the Supreme Court after the Uttarakhand High Court had rejected their plea.

(Uttarakhand crisis: HC dismisses plea of 9 Congress MLAs, rebels approach SC)

The MLAs had petitioned the court stating that they be allowed to vote in the floor test to be held tomorrow.

The Bench also appointed principal secretary, legislative assembly and parliamentary affairs, Jaidev Singh as the observer to oversee the floor test proceedings.

When the hearing commenced in the court at 1.30, the Bench made it clear that the floor test will go on in

Uttarakhand as directed by it last week. The Supreme Court had last week given the go ahead for the floor test, but had also stated that the nine disqualified MLAs shall not vote.

Tight security:

As per the directive of the Supreme Court the floor test in Uttarakhand will be held tomorrow between 11 am and 1 pm. Section 144 has been imposed in Dehradun from 4 pm today.

(Sting CD probe: CBI summons Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat)

During the floor test no mobile phones will be allowed inside the legislative assembly. There will be tight security in place. Additional forces have been called in to ensure that there are no untoward incidents reported.

The numbers:

For Harish Rawat to be reinstated he would need the support of 32 MLAs. The Congress has 27 MLAs while the BJP 28. With the Supreme Court refusing to allow the 9 disqualified MLAs to take part in the floor test the votes of the six PDF MLAs and one nominated member becomes extremely crucial for Rawat.

Rawat in order to be back as the CM would need the support of five more MLAs. He would rely on the on the 6 MLAs of the PDF apart from one nominated member who will be entitled to vote on May 10.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X