• search
For Patna Updates
Allow Notification  

Updates: Nitish Kumar sworn-in as CM, Lalu's sons also take oath

By Oneindia Staff Writer

Patna, Nov 20: JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar was sworn in as Bihar Chief Minister for the third term. Interestingly, this is the first time that the Bihar government will be formed by the Grand Alliance of JD(U), RJD and Congress.

Nitish Kumar was sworn in as Bihar CM at Gandhi Maidan in Patna. Stay tuned for all the latest updates.

Nitish Kumar is sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Bihar by the Governor Ram Nath Kovind during a ceremony at Gandhi Maidan in Patna.

3.24 pm: Swearing-in ceremony ends with Lalu, Nitish waving at the crowd.

3.10 pm: Rahul Gandhi arrives at Gandhi Maidan in Patna, greets Lalu Prasad

2.55 pm: Cong's Ashok Choudary unable to take oath as minister as he was waiting for Rahul Gandhi.

2.52 pm: Santosh Nirala from JD(U) takes oath as minister.

2.50 pm: Manju Verma from JD(U) takes oath.

2.48 pm: Shailesh Kumar from JD(U) takes oath.

2.41 pm: RJD's Ram Vichar Rai take oath.

2.38 pm: Abdul Jalil Mastan of the Congress takes oath in Bihar.

2.36 pm: Maheshwar Hazari sworn in as Minister in Bihar cabinet.

2.34 pm: Krishna Nandan Verma sworn in as Minister in Bihar cabinet.

2.30 pm: Congress' Awadhesh Singh sworn in as Minister in Bihar cabinet.

2.28 pm: Alok Mehta from Rashtriya Janta Dal takes oath.

2.25 pm: Jai Kumar Singh takes oath of office as Minister in Bihar cabinet.

2.23 pm: Shravan Kumar takes oath as Minister in Bihar cabinet.

2.20 pm: Rajeev Ranjan Singh takes oath of office as Minister in Bihar cabinet.

2.15 pm: Abdul Bari Siddiqui takes oath of office as Minister in Bihar cabinet

2.13 pm: Tej Pratap Yadav makes an error while taking oath, is asked to take oath for a second time.

2.12 pm: Lalu Yadav's elder son Tej Pratap Yadav too included in the cabinet.

2.07 pm: Lalu Prasad's son Tejasvi Prasad Yadav takes oath

2.04 pm: Nitish Kumar takes oath as Bihar Chief Minister

2.00 pm: WB CM Mamata Banerjee at Nitish Kumar's swearing in ceremony at Gandhi Maidan in Patna.

1.52 pm: Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi & Himachal Pradesh CM Virbhadra Singh at Nitish Kumar's oath taking ceremony

1.50 pm: Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu with Lalu Prasad Yadav at Nitish Kumar's oath taking ceremony

1.45 pm: Nitish Kumar and Lalu Yadav at Gandhi Maidan in Patna

The Nitish Kumar ministry will have 12 ministers from JD(U) with many new faces while Lalu Prasad's both sons -- Tejaswi and Tej Pratap-- will be among the ministers from RJD.

Manju Varma, Madan Sahni, Shailesh Kumar and Kapildeo Kamat were among those tipped for ministerial berths. Bijendra Prasad Yadav, Shrawan Kumar, Rajiv Ranjan Singh Lallan and Jay Kumar Singh, all members of the outgoing cabinet, will also find a place in the new Ministry.

From RJD's quota of 12 ministers, names of Tejaswi Yadav, his brother Tej Pratap Yadav, Abdul Bari Siddiqui, Abdul Gafoor, Vijay Prakash, Chandrika Rai, Mundrika Singh Yadav, Santosh Nirala, Ram Vichar Rai and Sheo Chander Ram were confirmed by RJD sources.

From Congress, state party chief Ashok Choudhary, Madan Mohan Jha, Abdul Jalil Mastan and Awdesh Kumar Singh will be sworn in, said state party sources.

A galaxy of leaders including Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and her Himachal Pradesh counterpart Virbhadra Singh would be present at the swearing in ceremony of the new Bihar government.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more