• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

UP civic polls 2017 result: BJP registers thumping win, Yogi calls it 'historic'

By Oneindia Staff Writer

The crucial verdict in the UP civic polls 2017 will be out today. Counting in the state of Uttar Pradesh which is ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party will be a closely watched affair.

BJP workers celebrating in Lucknow (Image credit - ANI/Twitter)

The district administration has designated four locations across Ghaziabad in which vote counting for different municipalities will take place. The three-phase civic polls that were held will also be a precursor to the 2017 Lok Sabha elections.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is also making its maiden appearance in these polls and is expecting to make some inroads.

Follow all the LIVE updates here:

5:00 pm: Congress candidate wins Raebareli Municipality seat.

4:45 pm: The BJP has won 14 mayoral seats in the Uttar Pradesh municipal elections. The BSP has won two seats.

4:15 pm : UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath thanks BJP workers for massive win.

3:30 pm: BJP heading for win in 10 Mayor seats, BSP leading in 2

3:15 pm: BSP candidate Mohammad Furkan wins Mayor seat in Aligarh

3:00 pm: Of the total 652 wards, BJP leading in 340; BSP in 116; SP in 81 and Congress in 19

Yogi Adityanath

2:31 pm: BJP has won 9 Mayor seats while BSP has won one

2:30 pm: BJP wins Amethi civic poll

2:00 pm: BJP wins five Mayor seats, leading in 9 others

1:40 pm: AAP trailing in all 62 seats it contested in Kanpur.

1:25 pm: BJP Mayor candidate lediang in Kanpur, Congress candidate at second place.

1:20 pm: Out of 16 municipalities, BJP leading in 13, BSP in 3

1:15 pm: BJP candidate Hrishikesh wins from Ayodhya

1:05 pm: BJP candidates leading in Aligarh, Saharanpur, Ghaziabad, Firozabad, Kanpur, Lucknow, Varanasi, Allahabad, Bareilly, Moradabad, Gorakhpur and Ayodhya

1:00 pm: BSP Mayor candidates leading in Meerut, Agra and Jhansi

12:30 pm: Meerut: BJP is leading in at least 34 out of the 90 seats. The BSP is second while the SP is a distant third.

12:10 pm: Violence reported from Rampur, two taken into custody

11:50 am: In Allahabad, BJP leading, SP is second and BSP is third

11:40 am: BJP candidate Meera Agarwal wins the lucky draw after BJP

11:30 am: Ruckus outside counting centre in Muzaffarnagar. Police resort to lathicharge in which 4 were injured.

11:20 am: BJP Mayor candidate leading in Kanpur. Congress second, BSP third and SP fourth

11:15 am: BJP Mayor candidate Sanyukta Bhatia leads in Lucknow.

11:10 am: In Mathura's ward number 56, BJP and Congress tied at 874 votes. Lucky draw to decide the winner.

11:05 am: BSP second with leads in 3 municipalities

11:00 am: Out of 16 municipalities, BJP leading in 10

10:50 am: In Allahabad, BJP leading in 19 seats while the BSP is leading in 13

10:40 am: BJP leading in Gorakhpur, Moradabad, Bareilly, Firozabad, Jhansi, Varanasi, Mathura, Allahabad. The BSP is leading in Agra and Meerut.

10:20 am: BSP leading in Meerut, Congress in Mathura

10:15 am: Ruckus at the counting centre in Shahjahanpur. Police swings into action.

10:00 am: Congress leading in Mathura municipality.

9:40 am: First round of counting in Aligarh: BJP - 9234, BSP - 8315, Congress - 1909 and SP - 1140

9:35 am: Samajwadi Party leading in Leherpur seat in Sitapur.

9:32 am: BJP leading in Pilibhit

9:30 am: BJP Mayor candidate leading by over 1000 votes in Moradabad, BSP is second, SP is third and Congress is fourth.

9:25 am: BJP candidates leading in Lucknow, Kanpur

9:20 am: Varanasi - BJP leading in 5 seats

9:10 am: BJP Mayor candidates leading in Meerut, Saharanpur, Lucknow, Ghaziabad, and Gorakhpur

8:55 am: BJP's Mayor candidate for Lucknow, Sanyukta Bhatia, said, "I don't consider anyone my competitor. I will be number one, no matter who is second or third."

8:45 am: Counting began at 334 centres across the state at 8 am.

8:30 am: Counting begins

8:08 am: Counting of votes to begin shortly

  • The civic polls are considered a test for the Yogi Adityanath government in the state.
  • An exit poll by ABP News-C Voter predicted an easy win for the saffron party with flying colours. The exit poll for the 16 municipal corporations, where elections took place in three phases, predict that the saffron party will win in 15 out of 16 cities.
  • The voting for 16 nagar nigam (Municipal Corporation), 118 nagar palika parishad (Municipal Council) and 438 nagar panchayat bodies had taken place in three phases on November 22, November 26 and November 29.
  • A total of 3.32 crore voters from all 75 districts exercised their franchise at 36,269 polling booths and 11,389 polling stations in the state during these elections.
  • 52.59 percent voting was recorded during the first phase of polling on November 22 while 49.3 percent polling was recorded during the second phase of voting on November 26. 53 percent polling was recorded during the third and final phase of polling on November 29.
  • The average polling percentage for all three phases stood at 52.5 percent.
  • Elaborate security arrangements have been made at all four centers where counting will take place.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more