• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

UP Bypoll Results: SP wins Phulpur by over 59,000 votes

By Deepika

In what could come as a huge setback for the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government in Uttar Pradesh, Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh won the Phulpur Lok Sabha seat in UP by 59,613 votes.

Nagendra Pratap Singh.ANI Image

Phulpur is an extremely prominent Lok Sabha seat that the BJP had wrested only in 2014.

Phulpur Lok Sabha bypoll was necessitated after BJP MP Keshav Prasad Maurya became the deputy chief minister in the Uttar Pradesh government.

In Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency, Praveen Nishad of the SP is leading BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla by over 22,000 votes till the last count.

Both seats were a prestige fight for the BJP. Gorakhpur has been held by Yogi Adityanath since 1998 - he was the youngest MP at 26 - and three times before that by his mentor Advaidyanath.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more