• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Tripura election 2018: 78.56 % voting recorded, voting underway in some booths


Polling began for 50 out of total 60-assembly seats in Tripura on Sunday, 18 February, where Chief Minister Manik Sarkar's Left Front government has been in power for 25 years and is looking for a straight win this time.

Tripura elections 2018: Voting in 60 assembly seats to begin today

Stay tuned for LIVE updates.

Newest First Oldest First
10:38 PM, 18 Feb
Voting still underway in some booths
7:14 PM, 18 Feb
76% voter turnout in 41 constituencies
5:25 PM, 18 Feb
In one constituency, the polling will be held on 12th March as it was rescheduled because of demands of one candidate, says Election Commission
4:27 PM, 18 Feb
65% voter turnout recorded till 3.00 pm.
1:47 PM, 18 Feb
“The PM had appealed the people of Tripura to come out to vote. We are confident that people will listen to him and join us in our slogan of ‘Chalo Paltai’, says BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav.
1:47 PM, 18 Feb
45.86% turnout till 1pm.
1:47 PM, 18 Feb
BJP Tripura chief Biplab Kumar Deb says CPI-M cannot win by threatening voters.
1:47 PM, 18 Feb
BJP national president Amit Shah tweets, “I urge all my brothers and sisters of Tripura to come out and vote in large numbers. Your one vote will lay the foundation of a prosperous and developed Tripura.”
1:46 PM, 18 Feb
According to an All India Radio, EVM malfunctioning reports have surfaced in a Banamalipur constituency’ polling booth. In Badarghat constituency, one EVM is also reported to be replaced.
11:46 AM, 18 Feb
23.25% voter turnout recorded till 11am
11:14 AM, 18 Feb
23% voter turnout recorded till 10 am
10:07 AM, 18 Feb
“We want a government that can push for development in the state,” say people outside a polling booth in Udaipur.
10:03 AM, 18 Feb
11% voters’ turnout recorded till 9 am.
9:49 AM, 18 Feb
CM Manik Sarkar casts his vote at a polling booth in Agartala, he is an MLA from Dhanpur constituency
8:59 AM, 18 Feb
BJP Tripura President Biplab Kumar Deb cast his vote at booth number 31/34 in Udaipur, says,'these election results will be historic, we will definitely win. PM & Amit Shah ji called me & gave good wishes.'
8:07 AM, 18 Feb
Twenty seats have been reserved for candidates from the Scheduled Tribes.
7:15 AM, 18 Feb
Voters queue up at polling booth number 31/34 in Tripura's Udaipur
7:10 AM, 18 Feb
People at polling booth number 6/20 in Agartala's Bhati Abhay Nagar
7:03 AM, 18 Feb
Polling begins for 59 out of the total 60 seats
5:40 AM, 18 Feb
The BJP has fielded its state general secretary Pratima Bhowmick from the seat. This is the second time Bhowmick is pitted against Sarkar. She fought and lost the elections from this seat in 1998.
5:40 AM, 18 Feb
Congress' Laxmi Nag is up against Sarkar from the constituency, bordering Bangladesh
5:40 AM, 18 Feb
CM Manik Sarkar hopes to register his fifth straight victory from his home constituency, Dhanpur in Sipahijala district.
5:35 AM, 18 Feb
Voting would be held between 7 am and 4 pm today at 3,214 polling stations of which 47 would be managed by women.

The high-decibel campaign ended in Tripura on 16 February. The BJP, that hopes to leave its mark in the Left state has pulled out all the stops to campaign, while the Congress has taken a relatively relaxed stance, with party chief Rahul Gandhi addressing poll rallies only on the last day.

Tripura Assembly
Party2013Current Standing
CPIM4950Election Date : Feb 18 2018

Counting : Mar 03 2018

Total6059 (1 Vacant)

The results will be declared on 3 March, following counting of votes. For the first time, the Right will take on the Left in a direct fight, with the BJP emerging the main challenger to Manik Sarkar's CPI(M).

There are 25,73,413 electorate, of whom 13,05,375 are males and 12,68,027 women while the number of third gender voters is 11. There are 47,803 new voters this time.

Three hundred companies of central armed forces have been deployed across the state along with state armed personnel and the police, he said, adding the BSF is keeping keep close vigil along the 856 km long Indo-Bangladesh border in the state.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X