• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

The one who wins Shirahatti wins Karnataka: Will the tradition continue?


Shirahatti is a constituency in the Gadag district of North Karnataka. There is a tradition attached to this constituency and that is whoever wins here, the candidate's party goes on to form the government in Karnataka.

The one who wins Shirahatti wins Karnataka: Will the tradition continue?

This has been the tradition since 1972 and it would be interesting to see whether it continues in 2018 also. In 1983, a independent candidate had won the constituency. He went on to support the minority government led by Ramakrishna Hegde.

In 2004, it was a Congress candidate who won the seat. Although the Congress was not the largest party in the state, it still formed the government with the help of the JD(S) for 20 months.

In 2013, Ramakrishna Doddamani won this seat. The Congress went on to form the government with a majority that year. This year he is taking on Ramanna Lamani of the BJP. The JD(S) has given this seat to its alliance partner, the BSP.

Will tradition continue here in 2018 also? Let us wait until May 15. Karnataka polls on May 12.

Karnataka Assembly Election dates
Date of notification April 17
Last date to file nominations April 24
Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
Date of polling May 12
Date of counting May 15

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more