• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Ten BJP, 2 SP candidates set to get elected unopposed to Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council


Lucknow Jan 19: Decks have been cleared for the unopposed election of 12 candidates, including 10 from the BJP, to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council with the nomination paper of an independent nominee being rejected during scrutiny of papers on Tuesday.


The nomination papers of independent Mahesh Chandra Sharma, who filed his papers on Monday, was rejected during scrutiny of papers, Returning Officer BB Dubey said.

With this, there are 12 candidates left for as many seats for the biennial election, he said. Sharma's paper was rejected as it did not have proposers and also the receipt of payment of fees, Dubey said.

Since 80s China occupying this area, construction of villages not a new thing: BJP MP Tapir Gao

Ten candidates of the BJP and two of the Samajwadi Party are now poised to get elected to the upper house unopposed. A formal announcement in this regard would be made on Thursday afternoon if there is no withdrawal of nomination, Dubey said.

As per the schedule for the election, names can be withdrawn till January 21. The polling was scheduled to take place on January 28 and the counting soon after the completion of the polls.

Has China constructed village in Arunachal? Chidambaram demands explanation from govt on BJP MP's claim

On the last date of filing of nomination papers on Monday, BJP candidates including Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma and former IAS A.K Sharma had filed their papers in the presence of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and senior ministers.

Others who filed their nominations include state unit BJP president Swatantra Dev Singh, Lakshman Prasad Acharya, Kunwar Manvendra Singh, Govind Narayan Shukla, Salil Bishnoi, Ashwani Tyagi, Dharamveer Prajapati and Surendra Chaudhary.

Last week, Samajwadi Party candidates Ahmed Hasan and Rajendra Chaudhary had filed their papers in the presence of party president Akhilesh Yadav. Of the 12 MLCs whose tenure is expiring, six are from the Samajwadi Party.

    India's Covid cases drop to lowest in 7 months, vaccination drive day 4|Oneindia News

    They include Ramesh Yadav, Ahmed Hasan, Ashu Malik, Sahab Singh Saini, Ramjatan Rajbhar and Virendra Singh. Those from the BJP are Deputy Chief Minister Sharma, state unit president Swatantra Dev Singh and Laxman Acharya.

    The tenure of BSP's Pradeep Jatav and Dharamveer Ashok is also coming to an end. The term of Naseemudin Siddiqui, who left the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and joined the Congress, is also coming to an end.

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X