• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Telangana elections: Karimnagar not impressed by Yogi Adityanath, BJP down to 1 from 5

Google Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Dec 12: Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) swept all seven assembly seats in Karimnagar district where Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, star campaigner of BJP, promised to change the name of the district from Karimnagar to 'Karipuram' if the saffron party came to power.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. PTI file photo

BJP ended up in fourth place in Manakondur, Sircilla, Huzurabad, and Husnabad assembly seats. In Choppadandi and Vemulawada BJP was pushed to third place. Only in Karimnagar town assembly seat, BJP was runner-up against TRS, still winning margin was 24,000 votes.

Telangana election results 2018: Which exit poll came the closest?Telangana election results 2018: Which exit poll came the closest?

In Huzurabad, BJP candidate got only 1683 votes whereas TRS candidate secured 1,04,840 votes and Congress polled 61,121 votes. Compared to BJP, Congress put up a decent fight against TRS. Congress was runner-up in five assembly seats in Karimnagar district.

Yogi Adityanath did eight rallies in Telangana and said that if the BJP comes to power in Telangana, it would rename Karimnagar district to 'Karipuram '. He also reiterated his earlier claim that the BJP will rename Hyderabad as 'Bhagyanagar' like Faizabad was changed to Ayodhya and Allahabad to Prayagraj. However, the party has been able to win just one seat at Ghosha Mahal where Yogi had addressed the rally. In 2014 assembly elections, BJP had won five seats in Telangana.

Party Candidate Votes
TRS Ravi Shankar Sunke 91090
Congress Medipally Sathyam 48963
BJP Bodiga Shobha Galanna 15835
Independent Dasari Vidyasagar 2222
Party Candidate Votes
TRS Eatala Rajendar 104840
Congress Kaushik Reddy Padi 61121
Independent Barige Gattaiah Yadav 2660
BJP Raghu Puppala 1683
Party Candidate Votes
TRS Satish Kumar Voditela 117083
CPI Chadha Venkat Reddy 46553
Telangana Inti Party Devasani Thirupathireddy 4556
BJP Chada Srinivasa Reddy 4309
Party Candidate Votes
TRS Gangula Kamalakar 80983
BJP Bandi Sanjay Kumar 66009
Congress Ponnam Prabhakar 39500
Independent K. Nagesh 3009
Party Candidate Votes
TRS Balakishan Rasamayi 88997
Congress Arepally Mohan 57488
Samajwadi Forward Bloc Prabhakar More 13610
BJP Gaddam Nagaraju 4356
Party Candidate Votes
TRS K Taraka Rama Rao 125213
Congress Kondam Karuna Mahender Reddy 36204
BSP Avunoori Ramakanth 3245
BJP Mallugari Narsa Goudu 3243
Party Candidate Votes
TRS Ramesh Chennamaneni 84050
Congress Srinivas Aadi 55864
BJP Pratap Ramakrishan 6592
BSP Bhoomesh Pittala 2119

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X