• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Telangana Assembly elections 2018 Highlights: Over 67 per cent turnout recorded


Hyderabad, Dec 7: Over 67 percent poll turnout was recorded in the Telangana Assembly elections on Friday as the polling ended on a peaceful note, barring minor incidents. Polling ended in 106 constituencies at 5 pm. A lot of complaints regarding missing names in voters list were reported.

Adding a dash of glamour to the poll process in Telangana, celebrities turned up in good numbers to cast their ballot Friday. Actor-turned-politician Chiranjeevi, veteran actor Krishna, popular heroes Nagarjuna, "junior" NTR and Mahesh Babu, and 'Baahubali'-fame director S S Rajamouli exercised their franchise. Tennis ace Sania Mirza and star badminton player P V Sindhu also cast their ballots. However, disappointment was in store for shuttler Jwala Gutta, who said she could not exercise her franchise as her name was allegedly missing in the electoral list.

KCR casting vote (Image credit - ANI/Twitter)

The TRS which formed the government in 2014 after the Telangana state was formed is up against the Congress and TDP, which are fighting the polls together. Can KCR and his TRS return to power or will the Congress stage an upset?

Stay tuned for Live updates here:

Newest First Oldest First
1:15 AM, 8 Dec
Speaking on Jwala Gutta's name missing case, Telangana Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar said that he has asked for a final report from the Electoral Registration Officer. Gutta's name was missing from the final voter list.
1:14 AM, 8 Dec
In Telangana, voting in Naxal-affected constituencies was passed off peacefully. Speaking to PTI, state police said: "The polling process in 13 constituencies out of the 119 assembly segments identified sensitive to Left-wing extremism was conducted in a peaceful manner." The police also arrested a cadre of banned CPI-Maoists in Bhadradri Kothagudem District and seized two pipe bombs.
1:14 AM, 8 Dec
BJP leader Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi today approached the Election Commission demanding action against against Congress President Rahul Gandhi for influencing voters. The BJP alleged that Gandhi influenced voters through paid news under the garb of his interview in a Hyderabad newspaper on 6 December.
1:14 AM, 8 Dec
The Election Commission has informed that voting is still underway at some polling stations. Final figures are still to come. Till 6:30 pm, voter turnout was 67 per cent. In the last assembly elections, the voter turnout was 69.5 per cent.
5:56 PM, 7 Dec
Low polling in urban areas; Final voter turnout awaited. Low turnout observed in urban areas especially in Hyderabad recording 51.32% compared to 53.13 in the 2014 general elections.
3:12 PM, 7 Dec
Reports say that several people are complaining of missing names from voter list. Badminton player Jwala Gutta also alleged that her name was missing.
2:58 PM, 7 Dec
"I checked my name online 2-3 weeks ago, my mother's and my names were there, my father's and my sister's were missing. Today we went to cast vote but my name was also missing. I don't understand how's my name missing. I have been living here for 12 yrs," badminton player Jwala Gutta tells ANI.
2:16 PM, 7 Dec
Caretaker Minister KT Rama Rao cast his vote at a polling station in Hyderabad.
2:15 PM, 7 Dec
Caretaker CM of Telangana K Chandrashekar Rao casts his vote at a polling station in Siddipet.
1:35 PM, 7 Dec
"It (polling) is going on very satisfactorily..I want to thank Telangana voters," says Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar.
1:34 PM, 7 Dec
Telangana registers 48.09% voter turnout till 1 pm.
12:49 PM, 7 Dec
Mulug in Jayashankar district of Telangana Legislative Assembly, a constituency reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates, has seen maximum turn out of 35.26% till 11 am, reports News 18.
12:42 PM, 7 Dec
BJP MP Bandaru Dattatreya casts his vote at booth no.229 in Ramnagar of Musheerabad constituency in Hyderabad.
11:36 AM, 7 Dec
"The youngest state of India, Telangana has lost four precious years due to ‘Corruption, Commission & Coterie Raj'. Let us throw out the arrogance of power and usher in a New era towards a ‘Bangaru Telangana’," Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala's tweet.
11:35 AM, 7 Dec
Telangana has registered 23% votes till 11am.
10:08 AM, 7 Dec
"I appeal to my sisters and brothers of Telangana to come out and vote in large numbers for a appeasement free and development oriented government. I specially urge my young friends to participate in this biggest festival of democracy without fail," tweets BJP president Amit Shah.
10:08 AM, 7 Dec
Asaduddin Owaisi at polling booth no. 317 in Mailardevpally, Shastripuram.
10:02 AM, 7 Dec
Actor Chiranjeevi casts vote:
9:29 AM, 7 Dec
Voting turnout in Telangana Assembly Elections is 8.97% till 9 AM.
9:16 AM, 7 Dec
Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyam​ Srihari casts his vote in Warangal.
9:14 AM, 7 Dec
Yakutpura constituency's AIMIM candidate Mumtaz Ahmed Khan​ Mumtaz Ahmed Khan has complained about non-local booth agents of other parties being present at polling stations. Khan had won the Yakutpura seat in 2014 by 34,423 votes and defeated BJP's Ch Roopraj, reports News 18.
8:48 AM, 7 Dec
state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Rajat Kumar Thursday said as many as 446 flying squads were in operation in the state to swing into action if any irregularity was reported and 448 static surveillance teams would also keep a watch on the situation. They would wait in the wings to take action, he said. Besides, 224 video-surveillance teams and 133 video-viewing teams were pressed into service. There were 126 assistant expenditure observers and 123 accounting teams, reported PTI.
8:47 AM, 7 Dec
Additional DG ( Law and order) Jitender Thursday told PTI that about one lakh security personnel, including 25,000 central paramilitary forces and 20,000 from other states, are engaged in poll duties. A senior police official said security was beefed up at bordering areas which were identified as Left Wing Extremist-affected regions.
8:33 AM, 7 Dec
Allu Arjun set to cast vote:
8:32 AM, 7 Dec
Actor Akkineni Nagarjuna casts vote:
8:17 AM, 7 Dec
There are long queues at several polling booths in Telangana. There seems to be a rush of early morning voters.
8:13 AM, 7 Dec
Voting is yet to begin at the polling station at GHMC Indoor Stadium, Amberpet. There was a delay due to some issue technical issue. Polling in Peddapalli, Karimnagar and Khammam also delayed due to technical issues.
7:50 AM, 7 Dec
A technical problem has been reported at the polling station in GHMC Indoor Stadium, Amberpet. Voting is yet to begin here.
7:50 AM, 7 Dec
Caretaker state irrigation minister, T Harish Rao was one of the early birds to cast his vote at polling booth 102 in Siddipet constituency
7:40 AM, 7 Dec
There is tight security in place as people come out of their homes to cast their votes. Several people came out as early as 6.30 am and waited in queue to cast their votes, which began at 7 am.

Read more about Telangana Assembly elections 2018 here:

Telangana Elections: Rohingyas warned against voting using fake ID cardsTelangana Elections: Rohingyas warned against voting using fake ID cards

With 70 candidates, BSP goes all out in Telangana assembly electionsWith 70 candidates, BSP goes all out in Telangana assembly elections

I'm Telangana's agent, not of BJP or Congress, says KCRI'm Telangana's agent, not of BJP or Congress, says KCR

Why the Kapus matter in the Kukatpally seat in TelanganaWhy the Kapus matter in the Kukatpally seat in Telangana

Can superstitious beliefs win KCR the Telangana elections?Can superstitious beliefs win KCR the Telangana elections?

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X