• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Suspense ends: Tejasvi Surya is BJP’s choice from Bangalore South


New Delhi, Mar 26: Putting an end to all speculation, the BJP has fielded youth leader Tejasvi Surya from the Bangalore South constituency. The constituency was held by the late Ananth Kumar.

Tejasvi Surya

Surya is the general secretary of the BJP's youth wing and also an advocate. The BJP had maintained suspense over this seat and there was speculation rife that Prime Minister Narendra Modi would contest from Bangalore South.

It was also expected that the seat would be given to Tejaswini, the wife of Ananth Kumar. She had even begun campaigning in the constituency. Since the BJP took time to declare a candidate from this seat, there was speculation that Modi may contest from here.

Deve Gowda, Parameshwara address joint pressmeet amid rebellion in Tumkur Congress

The BJP also declared Ashwat Narain as the candidate from Bangalore Rural. Rupak Sarmah would contest the Nowgong seat from Assam, while Rajveer Singh Balmiki is the BJP's candidate from Hathras in Uttar Pradesh.

In another development, the Congress has fielded Krishna Byre Gowda from Bangalore North. He will take on D Sadananda Gowda of the BJP.

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more