• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

RR Nagar victory won’t change Congress tally in Karnataka assembly

By Chennabasaveshwar

With Congress candidate Muniratna Naidu taking an unassailable lead in Rajarajeshwari Nagar, the Congress tally in the Karnataka Assembly will remain the same.

After the 14th round of counting, Congress candidate Muniratna Naidu leads by 97,440 votes, Muniraju Gowda of BJP gets 56,278 votes. JD(S) candidate GH Ramachandra a distant third with 45,345 votes.

 Congress workers celebrate in Bengaluru as Party leads from Rajarajeshwari Nagar assembly constituency

In the recently concluded assembly elections, the Congress had won 78 seats of 224 seats it contested from. However, the election in Rajarajeshwari Nagar constituency was put on hold and postponed to May 28th by the Election Commission after the sezure of 10,000 voter ID cards in Jalhalli area. An FIR has been filed against Congress candidate Muniratna Naidu in connection with case.

The post-poll Congress-JDS alliance posed a challenges for the both parties regarding candidates. Congress was not ready to withdraw sitting MLA Muniratna from the constituency. After a few rounds of failed talks, both JDS and Congress went ahead with their candidates.

Even after the victory in RR Nagar, the Congress tally will not rise to 79 due to the death of sitting Congress MLA from Jamakhandi. Unfortunately, Congress MLA from Jamakhandi Siddu Nyamagowda died in an accident.

Sooner or later, the Election Commission will announce byelection for the Jamakhandi constituency.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X