• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Rajya Sabha polls for Gujarat, Goa, Bengal postponed over presidential election


The Election Commission of India deferred Rajya Sabha elections to 10 seats in Goa, Gujarat and West Bengal that were scheduled for June 8, but did not give a date.

Rajya Sabha elections for Goa postpone for next president of india elections

The decision has been taken because these polls would have clashed with presidential polls and EVM challenge which is scheduled to start from June 3.

An Election Commission statement on Monday said its earlier announcement of biennial elections for 10 Rajya Sabha seats from these states on June 8 has since been withdrawn and that a new schedule will be announced in "due course".

Rajya Sabha members whose terms are coming to an end in July and August this year include Shantaram Naik from Goa; Ahmed Patel and Smriti Irani from Gujarat; and Sitaram Yechury, Derek O'Brien and Sukhendu Shekhar Roy from West Bengal.

The EC has also written to CEOs of 5 states where elections were concluded recently on the EVM hackathon planned next month.

The presidential elections will be held in July when President Mukherjee's term ends. The vice president will be elected in August.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more