• search
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now  
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman election: The number game and what it looks like


    New Delhi, Aug 9: It would be a fight between the NDA's Harivansh and Congress's B K Hariprasad. Elections to the post of Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, which is being held after 20 years, will take place today.

    Going by the current numbers, the NDA seems to be comfortably perched. With parties such as the TRS, AIADMK and BJD deciding to back Harivansh of the JD(U), the NDA appears to be sailing through with ease. The fact that the Shiv Sena too has decided to back Harivansh has made it easier for the NDA.

    Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman election: The number game and what it looks like

    The magic number is 122, provided all members are present in the 245 member house. One seat is however vacant. The NDA currently has 93 members. With the backing of the AIADMK, BJD and TRS, its strength goes up to 121, still one short of the magic number. However the NDA is expecting that some members may abstain, bringing the strength of the House down.

    Only 3 out of the 4 DMK members may be present in the House for voting today. They are away in Chennai owing to the demise of their leader, M Karunanidhi. Further parties such as the AAP and YSRCP are also likely to abstain and this would bring down the number further.

    The UPA on the other hand has 112 MPs. It would need the support of the 14 undecided MPs from the AAP, PDP, INLD, YSRCP and Independents to put up a fight. The YSRCP with 2 MPs is most likely to abstain, thus bringing down this tally down to 12. The AAP on the other hand has indicated that it would back the Congress provided it is asked to.

    Do check out the table below:

    Rajya Sabha Strength 245
    Vacant Seats 01
    Magic Number 122
    NDA 93
    BJP 73
    BPF 01
    JD(U) 06
    Nominated 04
    NPF 01
    RPI (A) 01
    SAD 03
    SDF 01
    Shiv Sena 03
    Joint opposition 109
    Trinamool Congress 13
    Bahujan Samaj Party 04
    Communist Party of India 02
    Communist Party of India (M) 05
    Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 04
    Congress 50
    Indian Union Muslim League 01
    Kerala Congress (M) 01
    Nationalist Congress Party 04
    Rashtriya Janata Dal 05
    Samajwadi Party 13
    Telegu Desam Party 06
    Backing NDA 28
    AIADMK 13
    BJD 09
    TRS 06
    Undecided 14
    AAP 03
    Independents 06
    YSRCP 02
    PDP 02
    INLD 01
    Vacant 01

    For Daily Alerts

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more