• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Rajasthan crisis: Over 90 MLAs reach CM Gehlot's residence to attend CLP meeting


Jaipur, July 13: Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot has called a meeting of Congress legislators on Monday morning after a few leaders supporting deputy chief minister Sachin Pilot trooped to the National Capital Region (NCR) amidst speculations of a split in the party.

    Rajasthan political crisis: Ashok Gehlot versus Sachin Pilot| The number game | Oneindia News

    Ashok Gehlot

    Sachin Pilot has made it clear that he will not attend the meeting.

    In late night statement, Pilot indicates how he can cut Gehlot to size

    Over 90 MLAs has reached Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot's residence in Jaipur, for Congress Legislative Party meeting.

    With the Congress Legislative Party meeting scheduled for today, 16 Congress MLAs are yet to reach Jaipur.

    According to ANI sources, these MLAs are Rakesh Paarik, Murari Lal Meena, GR Khatana, Indraj Gujjar, Gajendra Singh, Harish Meena, Dependra Singh Shekhawat, Bhanwar Lal Sharma, Vijendra Ola, PR Meena, Ramesh Meena, Vishvendra Singh, Jahida Ramnivas Gavadia, Mukesh Bhakar, Hema Ram Chaudhary and Suresh Modi.

    Sources said, if they do not come to attend the meeting, then disciplinary action is likely to be taken against them as stated by Congress' Avinash Pandey yesterday and it is possible that their membership could be cancelled.

    Rajasthan crisis: At loggerheads with Ashok Gehlot, Sachin Pilot to skip key party meet today

    Avinash Pande, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary in-charge of Rajasthan said the BJP was behind the "conspiracy" to topple the Ashok Gehlot government but it will complete its term.

    Pande said late on Sunday that the party has issued a whip to mandate the presence of all the party's MLAs during Monday morning meeting.

    Monday's meeting will be the latest in the series of talks the Congress party has been holding amid the political crisis in Rajasthan.

    In the 200-member assembly, the Congress has the support of 125 MLAs, including 107 of its own legislators. The party has the backing of 13 independents and five from other parties. The majority mark is 101. The BJP has 72 legislators and has the support of three of Hanuman Beniwal's Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RPL).

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more