• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Punjab Municipal Election Results 2021: Congress party sweeps local body polls


Chandigarh, Feb 17: The Congress party has bagged massive wins in the Punjab local body elections. The party bagged all the municipal corporations-- Moga, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, Pathankot, Abohar, Batala and Bathinda. The Congress' win in Bathinda is the most unusual as it has been a bastion of the Akalis for a very long time.

Punjab Municipal Election Results 2021: Counting of votes today

Overall, 71.39 per cent turnout was recorded in the polls for the civic bodies for which Congress, AAP, BJP and Akali Dal are taking on each other.

However, the result of the SAS Nagar municipal corporation is likely to be announced later.

Punjab Municipal Election Results 2021 Highlights

Newest First Oldest First
4:58 PM, 17 Feb
The State Election Commission had ordered repolling at two booths for the Mohali municipal corporation. Therefore, the counting for the entire civic body will take place on Thursday.
4:58 PM, 17 Feb
Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar said people have rejected the “negative politics” of parties like the BJP, SAD and AAP.
4:57 PM, 17 Feb
The Shiromani Akali Dal, the Aam Aadmi party and the Bharatiya Janata Party failed to make a mark in the elections for the municipal corporations.
4:57 PM, 17 Feb
The outcome of the elections held against the backdrop of the farmers’ agitation against the BJP-led government at the Centre has come as a boost for the Congress, which is also eyeing to win the assembly elections due early next year.
4:57 PM, 17 Feb
The ruling Congress won six of the seven municipal corporations in the civic polls in Punjab for which results were declared Wednesday, officials said. The Congress won in Bathinda, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, Abohar, Batala and Pathankot. The result for the seventh corporation was expected later in the day. The counting of votes for yet another corporation will take place on Thursday.
4:16 PM, 17 Feb
'You are all winners', tweets SAD's Harsimrat Kaur Badal
3:59 PM, 17 Feb
"This is a tight slap on the face of BJP, SAD and AAP by people of Punjab for playing with the feelings of our Anndaatas," tweets Punjab Congress after registering victory in the majority of the municipal polls.
3:40 PM, 17 Feb
Results a testament to Captain Amarinder Singh's able leadership, says Congress
3:01 PM, 17 Feb
The Congress won in all seven municipal corporations in the Punjab local body polls, reported NDTV.
2:47 PM, 17 Feb
Kharar: Congress wins 10 seats, SAD 8, and Independents 8
2:23 PM, 17 Feb
Rajpura municipal corporation: Congress wins 27 seats, SAD 1 and BJP 2.
1:54 PM, 17 Feb
BJP leads in ward number 21 of Khanna
1:21 PM, 17 Feb
SAD has won the Nayagaon Municipal Corporation in Mohali, bagging 16/21 wards.
1:20 PM, 17 Feb
Congress wins Faridkot municipal council in the Punjab civic body polls, reported Hindustan Times.
1:00 PM, 17 Feb
Pathankot municipal corporation, a BJP bastion saw Congress come out victorious as the party recorded wins in 23 out of 50 wards.
12:48 PM, 17 Feb
Dera Bassi municipal corporation: The Congress wins 13 of the total 19 wards. SAD 3; BJP 1.
12:27 PM, 17 Feb
The counting of votes for the Municipal Corporation in Mohali would take place on Thursday.
12:24 PM, 17 Feb
Congress wins 5 of the 7 municipal corporations in Punjab.
12:23 PM, 17 Feb
Congress wins Abohar municipal corporation.
12:23 PM, 17 Feb
Moga: Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) is ahead after winning in 15 wards. Congress in second spot after winning in 13 wards.
12:20 PM, 17 Feb
The Congress won Ward Nos. 1, 2, 4, 5 and 6 in the Zirakpur MC elections.
12:15 PM, 17 Feb
Congress wins 11 wards in Nawanshahr
12:15 PM, 17 Feb
Kurali, Congress wins 9 seats, Independent five, and SAD 2
12:15 PM, 17 Feb
Sultanpur Lodhi: Congress wins 10 seats, BJP three
12:14 PM, 17 Feb
Congress set to have it's Mayor for the first time in Bathinda MC
11:58 AM, 17 Feb
The wife of former BJP cabinet minister Tikshan Sood has lost in Hoshiarpur.
11:56 AM, 17 Feb
Harjot Kamal, wife of Moga Congress MLA, has lost in Moga municipal corporation from ward number 1 by 151 votes
11:03 AM, 17 Feb
Jandiala: Congress wins 10 seats, Akali dal wins 3 and Independent 2
11:02 AM, 17 Feb
Ferozepur: Congress wins Ward No 1 to 13
11:02 AM, 17 Feb
Zirakpur MC elections: Congress wins Ward No. 1, 2,4,5,6 : SAD 3

A total of 9,222 candidates are in the fray for the elections to 2,302 wards of eight municipal corporations of Abohar, Bathinda Batala, Kapurthala, Mohali, Hoshiarpur, Pathankot and Moga, 109 municipal councils and nagar panchayats.

Of the total candidates, 2,832 are independents, 2,037 from the ruling Congress while 1,569 are SAD nominees. The BJP, AAP and BSP fielded 1,003, 1,606 and 160 candidates, respectively.

Meanwhile, the Punjab State Election Commission ordered repolling at three booths of the Municipal Councils of Patran and Samana in Patiala.

 Andhra Pradesh Phase 3 gram panchayat poll: Over 55 lakh voters to exercise franchise today Andhra Pradesh Phase 3 gram panchayat poll: Over 55 lakh voters to exercise franchise today

The repolling will be held on February 16 from 8 am to 4 pm, and counting will take place on February 17.

An official spokesperson of the State Election Commission said reports were received from the Returning Officer (RO) of Patran that some miscreants damaged the electronic voting machine (EVM) at polling booth number 11 of ward number 8.

Reports were received from the RO of Samana about damaging of EVMs by miscreants at polling booth number 22 and 23 of ward number 11.

Taking serious note of these incidents, the commission announced that the polling conducted at these booths would be nullified and repoll held under section 59(2)(A) of the Punjab State Election Commission Act, 1994, the official said.

The Opposition parties have accused the ruling Congress of "capturing booths" and "indulging in violence".

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X