• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Ram Nath Kovind to be sworn in as 14th President of India on July 25

By Vicky
Google Oneindia News

Ram Nath Kovind was today elected as the 14th President of India. Kovind scored a comfortable victory over his rival Meira Kumar. He won with a margin of 65.65 per cent of the votes. Meira won 34.35 per cent of the votes.

Ram Nath Kovind

10 things to know about Ram Nath Kovind, India's 14th President10 things to know about Ram Nath Kovind, India's 14th President

    Ram Nath Kovind wins Presidential Elections, beats Meira Kumar by huge margin | Oneindia News

    Counting took place across four tables. There will be eight rounds of counting, and announcements will be made after every round.

    Polling to choose the successor to President Pranab Mukherjee, who demits office on July 24, was held simultaneously at 32 polling stations -- one in Parliament House and one each in 29 state assemblies and two union territories with assemblies.

    [Next President of India: Did you Know Ram Nath Kovind was Morarji Desai's pvt secy]

    Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra is the Returning Officer for the election, and will issue the certificate to the winning candidate.

    Officials said the seals of ballot boxes will be opened on Thursday in the presence of representatives of the two candidates -- former Bihar Governor Kovind and former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar -- and the observers of the Election Commission.

    [Presidential election 2017 results: This is how counting takes place]

    Follow the live updates here:

    5:07 pm: My ideological battle will continue. I congratulate Ram Nath Kovind: Meira Kumar

    5:05 pm: I want to thank all those who have voted for me says President elect Ram Nath Kovind

    This is a very emotional moment for me: Kovind

    I would also like to thank Meira Kumar: Kovind

    This is an emotional moment for me: Kovind

    I would like to thank Sonia Gandhi and all those who supported me: Meira Kumar

    4:43 pm: Congratulations to Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India! Best wishes for a fruitful & inspiring tenure, tweets PM Modi.

    4:40 pm: Kovind to be sworn in on July 25.

    4:39 pm: Ram Nath Kovind secured 2,930 votes with value of 7,02,044.

    MeiraKumar got 1,844 votes with the value of 3,67,314.

    77 votes were declared invalid.

    Kovind is President of India

    4:38 pm: Win of Ram Nath Kovind is a victory for the poor: Amit Shah

    4:30 pm: Ram Nath Kovind will be sworn in at the Central Hall of Parliament.

    4:12 pm: Kovind's total tally was at 7,02,644

    Meira Kumar polled 3,67,314

    4:11 pm: Ram Nath Kovind has won the presidential election.

    An official announcement to this effect has been made.

    Kovind won the elections by a 65.5 per cent margin.

    Meira Kumar polled 34.35 per cent of the votes.

    4:08 pm: Heartiest congratulations to Ramnath Kovind Sahib as he goes on to assume the highest office in the land with all good wishes for his term: Omar Abdullah

    4:05 pm: Ram Nath Kovind wins Presidential election

    4:00 pm: People offer prayers for Ram Nath Kovind in Kanpur

    3:33 pm: Kovind leads with 4,79,585 votes, Meira bags 2,045,94

    3.20 pm: Congratulations to Ram Nath Kovind ji, who will be our next President: Mamata Banerjee

    3:08 pm: Cross-voting has taken place in Goa and Gujarat. Both in favour of NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind.

    3:00 pm: State-wise break up of votes:

    Parliament: Kovind (3,69,576): Meira Kumar (1,59,300), 21 invalid

    Andhra Pradesh: Ram Nath Kovind (27,189), Meira Kumar (0).

    Arunanchal Prdesh: Kovind (448): Meira (24).

    Assam: Kovind (10,556): Meira (460).

    Bihar: Kovind (22,460): Meira (18,867).

    Goa: Ram Nath Kovind (500): Meira Kumar (220), 2 invalid.

    Chattishgarh: Ram Nath Kovind (6,708) Meira Kumar (4,515), 3 invalid.

    Gujarat: Kovind (19,404): Kumar (7,203)

    Haryana: Kovind (8,176); Kumar (1,792).

    Himachal Pradesh: Kovind (1,530) Meira Kumar (1,087).

    Jammu and Kashmir: Kovind (4,032): Meira Kumar (20,160).

    Jharkhand: Kovind (8,976) Meira Kumar (4,576).

    Total: Kovind (4,97,585); Kumar (2,40,594).

    2.50 pm: Vote share for Kovind in 11 states so far

    Andhra Pradesh 100%

    Arunachal Pradesh 94.9%

    Assam 95.8 %

    Bihar 54.3 %

    Goa 69.4%

    Himachal Pradesh 58.5%

    Jammu and Kashmir 16.7%

    Jharkhand: 66.2 %

    Gujarat 72.9%

    Haryana 82%

    Chhattisgarh 59. 8%

    2.43 pm: Kovind takes further lead with 4,79,585 votes, Meira bags 2,045,94.

    2:15 pm: I am not upset says Meira Kumar. I am a fighter and fought for my countrymen, she also said.

    1:52 pm: States covered in first round of counting are: Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam and Bihar

    1.47 pm: Kovind leads by 1 lakh votes now

    1.40 pm: Ram Nath Kovind takes massive lead with a 60,683 vote share. Meira Kumar of the UPA has a vote share of 22,941.

    1.32 pm: Ram Nath Kovind has taken the lead. He polled 221 votes while Meira Kumar polled 134.

    1.13 pm: Kanpur: People at village of NDA's presidential candidate #RamNathKovind celebrate and offer prayers in anticipation of his win

    12.56 pm: Counting is being done under the supervision of Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra, who is also the Returning Officer

    12.55 pm:Counting of votes underway in Parliament

    12.47 pm:Celebrations have already begun at Ram Nath Kovind's village, Paraukh in anticipation of his victory.

    The UPA's counting agents are Deepinder Singh Hooda, Gaurav Gogoi, BK Hariprasad and Nadimul Haque.

    12.38 pm: The first trend is expected in the next half an hour.

    11.42 am: Let us see if the inner voice of conscience prevails says UPA's presidential candidate Meira Kumar. I have great belief in ideology, she also says.

    11.30 am:The first boxes to be opened for counting were from Andhra Pradesh and Assam

    Winning or losing is not the issue. The good part is a Dalit candidate would be President irrespective of whoever wins says BSP's Mayawati.

    11.27 am: Great belief in ideology I fought for, also believe in inner voice of conscience, lets see how much it prevails, says MeiraKumar

    11.24 am: The BJP says that Kovind will win by a 68 per cent margin

    11.22 am: Ram Nath Kovind offers prayers at Bangla Sahib Gurdwara

    11.22 am: Suresh Angadi, Ganesh Singh and Gajendra Shekhawat are the counting agents of the BJP.

    11:20 am: I have fought for ideology, says Meira Kumar

    11.19 am: Meira Kumar speaks to media as counting of votes for Presidential Poll begins

    11.10 am: There would be updates on the results provided every 2 hours

    11.09 am: Counting is taking place on 4 tables

    There would be 8 rounds of counting

    11.08 am: The BJP expects the vote share to cross 70 per cent

    11.05 am: Counting of votes has begun

    10:53 am: Ram Nath Kovind is set to win the election by a 70 per cent margin

    • Counting starts at 11 am
    • Result to be declared by 5 pm

    OneIndia News

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X