• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Polls to 55 Rajya Sabha seats on March 26


New Delhi, Feb 25: Elections to 55 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant in April will be held on March 26, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday. Election to take place in 17 states. The counting of the votes will take place on the same day.

These seats from 17 states are falling vacant on different dates in April.

Polls to 55 Rajya Sabha seats on Mar 26

These seats from 17 states are falling vacant on different dates in April due to the retirement of members.

All the seventeen states include Maharashtra, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur Rajasthan and Meghalaya where the election will take place on March 26.

The notification for the biennial elections will be issued on March 6, March 13 is the last date of filing nominations. Counting will be held on the evening of March 26, an hour after the conclusion of polls.

Prominent among those retiring are NCP leader Sharad Pawar, Union minister Ramdas Athawale (RPI-Athawale), Congress veteran Motilal Vora and former union minister Vijay Goel (BJP).

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more