• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Pinarayi Vijayan to be sworn in as Kerala CM on May 25


Thiruvananthapuram, May 21: Pinarayi Vijayan, will be sworn in as Kerala Chief Minister in the state capital on May 25. The new CPI(M)-led LDF Ministry, won the state assembly elections on Thursday.

"We have planned to hold the function on May 25 in the evening at the Central stadium here," Chief Minister designate Vijayan told reporters after a brief meeting with CPI(M)'s senior most leader V S Achuthanandan at the latter's official residence at Cantonment house here.

Pinarayi Vijayan to be sworn on May 25

The LDF would meet tomorrow to discuss matters related to ministry formation, Vijayan said when asked about the nature of the new Ministry.

A smiling Vijayan met 92-year Achuthanandan for a brief while and said, "Achuthanandan is the last party leader who held the post of Chief Minister and has the experience. So it is important to understand various matters from him".

Read More: Profile: Who is Pinarayi Vijayan, next Kerala CM?

CPI-M yesterday elected Vijayan as the new leader of the LDF at its state secretariat and state committee meeting. LDF romped to power with 92 seats pushing the Congress led UDF to 47 in the 140-member Assembly and BJP bagging a single seat.

OneIndia News

(With PTI inputs)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more