• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Patnaik set for record fifth term as Odisha CM, swearing-in-ceremony on May 29


Bhubaneswar, May 26: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik will be sworn-in as Odisha Chief Minister on May 29 for a fifth consecutive term after landslide victory in the state Assembly elections.

The oath-taking ceremony will be a low key affair as the State is still recovering from the devastation caused by Cyclone Fani, which hit Odisha on May 3.

Patnaik set for record fifth term as Odisha CM, swearing-in-ceremony on May 29

The BJD swept the Assembly polls by winning 112 seats with a vote share of 44.7%, while the BJP increased its share to 32.5% (18% in 2014) and the Congress had 16.1% (25.7%).

After massive win, Y S Jagan meets Modi, invites him for swearing-in ceremony

As many as seven women were elected to the Lok Sabha from Odisha, five representing the BJD and two from the BJP.

The prominent winners in the Lok Sabha polls include Union Minister Jual Oram from Sundargarh, Bhartruhari Mahtab of the BJD from Cuttack and the BJD's Pinaki Mishra from Puri.

BJD headed by him has won a decisive victory in the assembly polls bagging 112 of the 146 assembly seats, polls for which were held along with the Lok Sabha elections.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more