• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Palghar By-election Result 2018: BVA, the party that gave Shiv Sena the jitters


Counting in the politically-crucial Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha seats of Maharashtra began on Thursday. Early trends show BJP is leading by 4,348 votes after the second round of counting in Palghar constituency, ahead of Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi's (BVA) Baliram Jadhav. The party has also taken a clear lead in Bhandara-Gondiya.

Palghar By-election Result 2018: BVA pushes Sena to third place

While the BJP looks to retain their seat in the constituency, Shiv Sena, in an unexpected move, fielded Wanaga's son Shrinivas for the seat. The BJP has put up former Congress minister Rajendra Gavit and the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi is also in the fray with the nomination of its ex-MP Baliram Jadhav. The Congress has fielded Damu Shingda.

The Congress and the NCP have aligned for the bypolls. The bypolls for the Palghar Lok Sabha seat is significant for the BJP, both nationally and across the state.

The by-election in Palghar was necessitated due to death of sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanaga.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X