• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Nitish Kumar to return as CM again but without Sushil Modi as his deputy


Patna, Nov 15: The NDA on Sunday chose JD(U) president Nitish Kumar for another term as the Chief Minister of Bihar even as suspense hung over the fate of his most trusted man in the BJP Sushil Kumar Modi who has served as his deputy for major part of his tenure so far.

Nitish Kumar to take oath as Bihar CM for 4th straight term tomorrow

Kumars name was announced at 1, Anney Marg, the Chief Ministers official residence, by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh who had been sent from Delhi as the "observer" for the BJP, which has returned with the highest number of seats in the NDA in the assembly elections.

Bihar govt formation: Nitish Kumar named as the next Chief Minister in NDA meeting

The sources also said that senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi has been chosen the leader of the legislature party and is likely to return as Deputy CM while Tarkishore Prasad, the MLA from Katihar, has been elected as the partys leader in the state assembly.

Kumar is expected to meet Governor Phagu Chauhan staking claim for formation of the new government and is likely to take oath on Monday.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X