• search
For Kanpur Updates
Allow Notification  

NIA to probe Assam’s Hizbul operative


New Delhi, Sep 29: The National Investigation Agency will take over the probe following the arrest of a Hizbul Mujahideen operative in Uttar Pradesh. It may be recalled that the UP police had arrested Qamar-uz-Zaman alias Kamruddin in Kanpur and seven of his associates in Assam this month.

Uttar Pradeshs Anti-Terrorist Squad (ATS), alleged Hizbul Mujahideen terrorist Qamar-uz-Zaman

In the name of Muslim welfare, a defence fund that controls India's terror, hawala network

Looking at the ramifications and magnitude of the case, the probe will be taken over by the NIA.

"We have received a letter stating that investigation of the case has been transferred to NIA. The NIA would soon collect documents related with the case from us to probe further," said IG, ATS (UP), Asim Kumar Arun.

NIA charges 8 in Manipur missing arms case in which Congress MLA is an accused

A native of Nagaon district in Assam, Kamruddin was arrested from Kanpur district on September 13. Later, Assam Police arrested seven of his associates. Investigations showed that he was planning an attack on a temple. He was also accused of trying set up a module of the Hizbul Mujahideen in Assam.

Kanpur Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Satyadev Pachauri BJP Winner 4,68,937 56% 1,55,934
Sriprakash Jaiswal INC Runner Up 3,13,003 37% 1,55,934
Dr.murli Manohar Joshi BJP Winner 4,74,712 57% 2,22,946
Sriprakash Jaiswal INC Runner Up 2,51,766 30% 0
Sri Prakash Jaiswal INC Winner 2,14,988 42% 18,906
Satish Mahana BJP Runner Up 1,96,082 38% 0
Shriprakash Jaiswal INC Winner 2,11,109 34% 5,638
Satya Dev Pachauri BJP Runner Up 2,05,471 33% 0
Sriprakash Jaiswal INC Winner 2,93,610 46% 34,459
Jagat Veer Singh Drone BJP Runner Up 2,59,151 41% 0
Jagat Veer Singh Dron BJP Winner 3,35,996 49% 1,36,009
Surendra Mohan Agarwal SP Runner Up 1,99,987 29% 0
Jagatveer Singh Dron BJP Winner 2,97,550 52% 1,51,090
Subhashini Ali CPM Runner Up 1,46,460 26% 0
Jagatveer Singh Bron BJP Winner 1,93,275 48% 1,13,621
R.n. Pathak INC Runner Up 79,654 20% 0
Subhashini Ali CPM Winner 1,74,438 41% 56,587
Jagat Vir Singh BJP Runner Up 1,17,851 28% 0
Naresh Chandra Chaturvedi INC Winner 2,14,160 57% 1,37,369
Sayed Shahabuddin JNP Runner Up 76,791 20% 0
Arif Mohammad Khan INC(I) Winner 1,63,230 45% 75,181
Maqbool Husain Kureshi JNP Runner Up 88,049 25% 0
Manohar Lal BLD Winner 2,69,629 71% 1,74,289
Naresh Chandra Chaturvedi INC Runner Up 95,340 25% 0
S. M. Banerjee IND Winner 1,48,845 61% 89,199
Babu Ram Shukla BJS Runner Up 59,646 24% 0
S.m. Banerji IND Winner 77,882 32% 6,517
G. Dutt INC Runner Up 71,365 30% 0
S. M. Banerjee IND Winner 1,39,039 53% 58,105
Bejoy Kumar Sinha INC Runner Up 80,934 31% 0
S. M. Banerjee IND Winner 87,612 49% 16,624
Surya Prasad Awasthi INC Runner Up 70,988 40% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more