• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

New maps of two new Indian Union territories: J&K, Ladakh


Srinagar, Nov 02: The Centre on Saturday released the maps of newly created Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. With this India now have a new geographical identity. The Government of India has notified geographical boundaries of newly carved Union Territories (UTs)- Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

The new maps of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and Union Territory of Ladakh. The two Union Territories formally came into existence on 31st October, 2019.

New maps of two new Indian Union territories: J&K, Ladakh

Three months after the abrogation of Article 370 from Jammu and Kashmir India now has two new Union Territories - Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh while it has one less state.

For the first time in the history of India a state is being converted into two Union Territories.

Currently, the total number of states in the country will now be 28, while the total UTs will go up to nine.

G C Murmu sworn-in as Lt Governor of Jammu and Kashmir

G C Murmu was on Thursday sworn in as the first lieutenant governor of the union territory of Jammu and Kashmir following the bifurcation of the state into two union territories.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more