• search
For New-delhi Updates
Allow Notification  

NDA to nominate Subramanian Swamy, Navjot Sidhu and Mary Kom for Rajya Sabha seats


New Delhi, April 22: As Parliament session is all set to commence from Monday, April 25, the BJP has decided to fill vacancies in the Rajya Sabha.

According to reports, BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, former MP Navjot Singh Sidhu, journalist Swapan Dasgupta, economist Narendra Jadhav, Olympic medallist Mary Kom and Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi may get the ticket to the Rajya Sabha.

rajya sabha

At the same time, journalist Rajat Sharma and actor Anupam Kher's names are also doing the rounds.

The Rajya Sabha has 12 nominated members in its total strength of 245. Of the 12 nominated members, presently, there are seven Rajya Sabha seats to be occupied.

Other five nominated members by the UPA government are: bollywood actress Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, industrialist Anu Agha, lawyer K Parasaran, and senior advocate KTS Tulsi.

As per the norms, the President nominates the members on the recommendation of the government.

Biennial elections on as many as 54 seats is likely to be held in July this year.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X