• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Mortal remains of Siachen heroes to finally reach their homes today

By OneIndia Defence Bureau
Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 15: Thirteen days after a massive avalanche hit their posts in Siachen, the mortal remains of nine soldiers from 19 Madras Regiment were finally brought to New Delhi today.

The bodies were brought to New Delhi from Leh today morning in a special Indian Air Force (IAF) C 130 J aircraft.
A wreath-laying ceremony was held at the Palam Airport on Monday. The mortal remains were given a befitting tribute by senior military officials. Senior officials from Indian Army, IAF and Ministry of Defence were present on the occasion.

Siachen rescue

Indian Army Chief General Dalbir Singh was expected to pay his respect as this report was going live.

Former Commanding Officers of 19 Madras Regiment were also present at the airport.

Owing to bad weather the IAF couldn't airlift the mortal remains of the martyred soldiers in the last couple of days.

The moral remains are to be flown out of New Delhi at around 12.45 today to Chennai, Madurai and Bengaluru.

Out of the 10 martyred soldiers, four are from Tamil Nadu, three from Karnataka, one each from Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra.

The mortal remains of one of the soldiers from Karnataka, Lance Naik Hanumanthappa Koppad was laid to rest with full State honours at his native village of Betadur in Dharwad last week.

A defence spokesperson told OneIndia that three bodies will be brought to Bengaluru.

"Out of the three martyrs, one will be taken to Tamil Nadu via road from Bengaluru," an official said.

Tamil Nadu

1) Havildar Elumalai M, a resident of Dukkam Parai village, Vellore district.
2) Lance Havildar S Kumar, a resident of Kumanan Thozhu village, Theni district.
3) Sepoy Ganesan G, a resident of Chokkathevan Patti village, Madurai district.
4) Sepoy Rama Moorthy N, a resident of Gudisatana Palli village, Krishnagiri district.


5) Subedar Nagesha T.T., a resident of Tejur village, Hassan district.
6) Lance Naik Hanamanthappa Koppad, a resident of Betadur village, Dharwad district.
7) Sepoy Mahesha P.N., a resident of H.D. Kote village, Mysore district.
8) Lance Naik Sudheesh B., a resident of Monroethuruth village, Kollam district.
Andhra Pradesh
9) Sep Mustaq Ahmed S., a resident of Parnapalle village, Kurnool district.
10) Sepoy Nursing Assistant Suryawanshi S.V., a resident of Maskarwadi village, Satara district.

(To be updated....)

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X