• search
For Indore Updates
Allow Notification  

Dawoodi Bohra community has always worked for peace, says Modi


Bhopal, Sep 14: Prime Minister Narendra Modi met religious head of Dawoodi Bohra community (sect within Ismaili branch of Shias), Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin, at a mosque in Indore on Friday.

Modi attends Ashara Mubaraka in Indore

Addressing a gathering at the event which was also addressed by Dr Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin, PM Modi said Imam Husain had raised his voice against injustice in the society and this is an important message for today's world.

''Dawoodi Bohra community has always worked for peace,'' Modi said.

Speaking about the universal healthcare scheme, Modi said "Ayushman Bharat Yojana has come as a saviour for about 50 crore poor people of the country. It will ensure free medical treatment worth Rs 5 lakhs in one year. The trial of this scheme is underway."

In his address at the Saifee Mosque in Indore, CM Chouhan said there are few communities like the Bohra community who love their nation, who are disciplined and who always help the others.

Syedna Mufaddal Saifuddin, the spiritual head of the Dawoodi Bohra said,''I convey birthday wishes to you in advance and pray for your long life. May you get success in all that you do for the country.''

The PM's meeting with Syedna Saifuddin took place at the Saifi Nagar mosque, where the Dawoodi Bohra community head is holding a nine-day religious discourse.

The prime minister's visit also assumes significance as Assembly polls are due in the BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh by year-end. Around 2.5 lakh Dawoodi Bohras are estimated to live in the state, mainly in Indore, Ujjain and Burhanpur districts.

Drone cameras were deployed to keep an eye over the city along with 150 CCTV cameras. About 3,500 policemen were also deployed in the city, Mishra added.

Indore Fact Check
Candidate's Name Party Result Vote Vote Share Margin
Shankar Lalwani BJP Winner 10,68,569 66% 5,47,754
Pankaj Sanghvi INC Runner Up 5,20,815 32% 5,47,754
Sumitra Mahajan (tai) BJP Winner 8,54,972 65% 4,66,901
Satyanarayan Patel INC Runner Up 3,88,071 30% 0
Sumitra Mahajan (tai) BJP Winner 3,88,662 49% 11,480
Satynarayan Patel INC Runner Up 3,77,182 47% 0
Sumitra Mahajan (tai) BJP Winner 5,08,107 59% 1,93,936
Rameshwar Patel INC Runner Up 3,14,171 37% 0
Sumitra Mahajan BJP Winner 4,74,167 57% 1,31,315
Mahesh Joshi INC Runner Up 3,42,852 42% 0
Sumitra Mahajan BJP Winner 4,40,047 52% 49,852
Pankaj Sanghvi INC Runner Up 3,90,195 46% 0
Sau. Sumitra Mahajan BJP Winner 3,38,327 51% 1,04,433
Madhukar Verma INC Runner Up 2,33,894 35% 0
Sumitra Mahajan (w) BJP Winner 3,03,269 55% 80,594
Lalit Jain INC Runner Up 2,22,675 40% 0
Sumitra Mahajan BJP Winner 3,19,123 50% 1,11,614
Prakashchand Sethi INC Runner Up 2,07,509 32% 0
Prakash Chand Sethi INC Winner 2,72,122 57% 90,826
Rajendra Nilkanth Dharkar BJP Runner Up 1,81,296 38% 0
Prakash Chand Sethi INC(I) Winner 2,10,994 52% 64,733
Sheel Kumar Nigam JNP Runner Up 1,46,261 36% 0
Kalyan Jain BLD Winner 1,74,278 50% 36,636
Bhatt Nandkishore INC Runner Up 1,37,642 39% 0
Prakash Chandra Sethi INC Winner 1,36,534 45% 45,698
Satya Bhan Singhal BJS Runner Up 90,836 30% 0
P.c. Sethi INC Winner 1,34,468 44% 34,118
H. Daji IND Runner Up 1,00,350 33% 0
Homi Daji IND Winner 95,682 42% 6,293
Ramsinghbhai Karansingh INC Runner Up 89,389 39% 0
Khadiwala Kanhaiyalal INC Winner 1,02,589 63% 60,579
Kishorilal BJS Runner Up 42,010 26% 0

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more