• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

NPP withdraws support to Biren Singh govt, Congress stakes claim


Imphal, June 17: Four National People's Party (NPP) ministers including Deputy Chief Minister Y JoyKumar Singh resigned from the BJP-led government in Manipur on Wednesday.

NPP withdraws support to Biren Singh govt

The other three who tendered their resignation letters are Tribal and Hills Area Development Minister N Kayishii, Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Letpao Haokip and Health and Family Welfare Minister L Jayanta Kumar Singh. Joykumar Singh also held the finance portfolio.

    S Jaishankar tells Chinese counterpart: Chinese side took pre-meditated action | Oneindia News

    In separate letters addressed to Chief Minister N Biren Singh, Joykumar, Haokip and Kayishii stated, "I am to intimate that I tender my resignation from Cabinet ministership of the BJP-led coalition government of Manipur led by your good self."

    Meanwhile, speaking to reporters, Joykumar Singh said, "We have submitted our official resignation letters to the chief minister."

    The 60-member Manipur Assembly has a current strength of 59 MLAs after Shyamkumar Singh of Andro assembly constituency, who had defected to the BJP from Congress, was disqualified.

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X