• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Loss for BJP means it is out of power in Delhi for 27 years


New Delhi, Feb 11: The loss for the BJP would mean that it will be out of power in Delhi for 27 years. The next elections in Delhi will be held in 2025.

The last time the BJP was in power in Delhi was in the year 1993. In the five years that the BJP ruled, there were three chief ministers, Madan Lal Khurana, Sahib Singh Verma and Sushma Swaraj.

Loss for BJP means it is out of power in Delhi for 27 years

The next three terms between 1998 and 2008 saw the Congress ruling the state. Sheila Dikshit was the chief minister in 1998, 2003 and 2008. The 2013 elections and the one held in 2015 owing to Arvind Kejriwal's resignation had the AAP ruling Delhi.

Delhi Election Results 2020: Seven star campaigners from BJP who lost to pull voters attention

In the 1993 elections, the BJP won 49 of the 70 seats, while the Congress bagged 14. In the 1998 polls, the BJP won 15 and the Congress 52. In 2003, the Congress won 47 and the BJP 20.

In 2008, the Congress ended up with 43 while the BJP bagged 23. In 2013, the BJP had 32 MLAs, the AAP, 28 and the Congress 8. In 2015, the BJP had 3 and the AAP, 67.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more