• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Defeating NDA in Bihar more important than seat-sharing: Tejashwi Yadav


Patna, Mar 13: RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav after on Wednesday claimed that there was no confusion among alliance partners, adding more than who gets which seat, defeating NDA in Bihar was most important.


"All the leaders of the 'mahagathbandhan' today came here for a meeting, we discussed seat sharing. There isn't any confusion between us, we are all clear," ANI quoted Yadav as saying.

EC wants to help NDA in Bihar, opposition alleges

Top leaders of the 'mahagathbandhan' met in the national capital to thrash out the contentious issue of seat-sharing for 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar.

The Mahagathbandhan comprising of RJD, Congress, Hindustani Awam Morcha, Rashtriya Lok Samta party, Vikas Sheel Insan party and other left parties have not even reached a seat-sharing agreement.

According to the reports RJD president Lalu Prasad is not in favour of giving more than 11-12 seats to Congress, which is demanding minimum 15 out of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar to contest.

Senior party leader Sadanand Singh on Tuesday said the party was willing to contest Lok Sabha elections under the umbrella of Mahagathbandhan only if it gets a respectable number of seats to fight.

"The state unit has already conveyed it to the party top leadership that we must get a respectable number of seats to fight elections. If RJD and Congress fail to reach a respectable consensus, then the top leadership is open to the option of going alone in the state just like Uttar Pradesh" said Sadanand Singh, senior Congress leader.

RJD, which is the largest party in the mahagathbandhan, will be contesting 20 of the 40 Lok Sabha in Bihar seats and leave the rest for the other alliance partners. Kushwaha had recently severed ties with the NDA after failing to crack a deal with the BJP and was left with zero seats in the JDU-BJP pact. He has now joined the mahagathbandhan, where he is likely to get six seats.

BJP, JDU and LJP have already announced the seat-sharing formula for the Lok Sabha elections with BJP and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's JDU contesting 17 seats each and leaving six seats for Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan's LJP.

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more