• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

G7 Summit: PM Modi gives mantra of 'one earth, one health'

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, June 12: With Covid pandemic continuing to impact many parts of the world, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday called for adopting a "one earth, one health" approach to effectively deal with the coronavirus pandemic.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

The session, titled 'Building Back Stronger - Health', focused on global recovery from the coronavirus pandemic and on strengthening resilience against future pandemics.

Calling for global unity, leadership and solidarity to prevent future pandemics, Modi emphasised the special responsibility of democratic and transparent societies to deal with the challenge.

The prime minister also sought support of the G7 for a proposal moved at the WTO by India and South Africa for patent waiver on Covid related technologies.

G7 summit is a chance to learn COVID lessons: Boris JohnsonG7 summit is a chance to learn COVID lessons: Boris Johnson

"The prime minister committed India's support for collective endeavours to improve global health governance. He sought the G7's support for the proposal moved at the WTO by India and South Africa, for a TRIPS (Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) waiver on COVID related technologies," an official statement said.

"Prime Minister Modi said that today's meeting should send out a message of 'One Earth, One Health' for the whole world," it said about his address at the outreach session.

PM will participate in the final day of the G7 Summit tomorrow and will speak in two Sessions.

Chancellor Angela Merkel specifically referred to PM's mantra and conveyed strong support.

Australian PM referred to his discussions with PM Modi earlier about TRIPS waiver, & conveyed strong support of Australia. Frech President called for raw material supplies to vaccine producers like India to ensure large scale vaccine production for whole world: GoI sources quotes ANI

The Group of Seven (G7) comprises the UK, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United States.

As chair of the G7, the UK invited India, Australia, South Korea and South Africa to the summit as guest countries.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X