• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Keshav Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma take oath as Deputy CMs

By Ians English

Lucknow, March 19: Firebrand Hindutva leader Yogi Adityanath was sworn in on Sunday as the Chief Minister of a Bharatiya Janata Party government in Uttar Pradesh. Also, Phoolpur MP Keshav Prasad Maurya sworn in as one of the two Deputy Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh.

Maurya, Sharma take oath as Deputy CMs

Maurya, who is also the state Bharatiya Janata Party chief, took oath immediately after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma has been a member of the BJP since long, but he emerged on the central stage of the party's politics with his appointment as its national vice-president in August 2014, after the BJP's landslide victory in the parliamentary elections. was also sworn in as a Deputy Chief Minister.

Maurya was born in Sirathu in Kausambhi district. His father Shyam Lal runs a tea stall in their village. Maurya won seat from Sirathu assembly under BJP. After two years, Maurya secured the Phulpur Lok Sabha seat in 2014 with five lakh votes. In 2016, Maurya was declared as BJP chief of Uttar Pradesh.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X