• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Keshav Prasad Maurya, Brijesh Pathak are deputies of Yogi Adityanath in new government

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 25: Former UP Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya, who lost the Sirathu Assembly constituency in Kaushabi district, and Brajesh Pathak, who served as a Law Minister in previous Yogi Adityanath's government, will be the deputy Chief Ministers of UP.

Keshav Prasad Maurya, Brijesh Pathak are deputies of Yogi Adityanath in new government

Yogi Adityanath is taking oath as the Chief Minister of the state for the second consecutive term on Friday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, top leaders from the UP, are attending the oath-taking ceremony which will have the participation of around 85 thousand spectators.

Keshav Prasad Maurya, BJP's OBC face in Uttar Pradesh, was associated with the RSS and the VHP from an early age, Maurya's life bears an uncanny similarity to that of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Both, as young men from poor families, helped their fathers sell tea.

Maurya is the only BJP leader after former UP chief minister and present Governor of Rajasthan Kalyan Singh who wields considerable support among OBCs and Dalits.

Whereas Pathak, 57, is a popular Brahmin face in UP who contested the recently-concluded UP assembly election from Lucknow Cantt. He defeated his nearest rival Surendra Singh Gandhi of Samajwadi Party by a margin of 39,512 votes.

He replaced Dinesh Sharma, who was the Deputy CM in the previous government, as the Brahmin face in the cabinet.

Keshav Prasad
Know all about
Keshav Prasad

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X