• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

KCR to take oath as Telangana CM tomorrow


Hyderabad, Dec 12: Telangana Rashtra Samithi President K Chandrashekhar Rao to take oath as the Chief Minister of Telangana on Thursday. TRS has won 88 seats in the assembly election. The party is set to form its second successive government in Telangana after taking an unassailable lead.

KCR likely to take oath as Telangna CM tomorrow

KCR said he wanted to hold his oath ceremony at 1:24 pm, but this was subject to Election Commission of India's approval. The time was decided after TRS consulted KCR's priest Laxmi Narayan Acharya.

Rao powered his party to a remarkable victory, winning 88 seats in the 119-member Assembly. KCR himself won by a margin of over 51,000 votes from his Gajwel seat, defeating V Pratap Reddy of the Congress. Rao's son K T Rama Rao and nephew T Harish Rao, both ministers in his caretaker government, also won by impressive margins.

Telangana elections: KCR returns in style and here is how he did it

The Praja Kutami (Peoples Front), a 4-party opposition alliance led by the Congress that included Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu's TDP, CPI and the newly formed Telangana Jana Samiti, cut a sorry figure together winning 21 seats.

Telangana election results 2018: Which exit poll came the closest?

In the 2014 elections, TRS emerged victorious with 63 Assembly seats and 11 out of 17 Lok Sabha seats. K Chandrashekar Rao took the oath as the first Chief Minister of Telangana on June 2, 2014. Out of 119, 88 were General Category candidates, 19 SC and 12 ST candidates.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X