• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka: Voting for Jayanagar seat to be held on June 11

By Vikas

The polling in Bengaluru's Jayanagar Assembly constituency, which was supposed to be held on May 12 but got cancelled due the death of BJP candidate B N Vijaykumar, would now be held on June 11. The counting of votes has been scheduled for June 16.

On May 12, the voting was held in 222 out of 224 constituencies in Karnataka. The other constituency where polling was not held also happens to be in Bengaluru - RR Nagar.

Karnataka: Voting for Jayanagar seat to be held on June 11

Jayanagar's two-time MLA B N Vijayakumar, passed away on May 4 after he suffered a massive cardiac arrest while he was campaigning for the Karnataka assembly elections. He was campaigning in Jayanagar 4th Block when he collapsed after a massive cardiac arrest. The 60-year-old BJP leader was on a door to door campaign at Pattabhiramanagar. He was at a voter's residence when he suffered a massive cardiac arrest.

In Bengaluru city, the voting was held in 26 out of the 28 seats out of which BJP could win just eight seats. The poll at Rajarajeshwari Nagar was postponed thanks to a voter ID scam. Over 9,000 voter ID cards were found in a flat in RR Nagar just a week before May 12 polls. The Election Commission has ordered a probe into the matter and postponed the elections to May 28.

Even if the BJP manages to win both these seats, it will still be short of majority mark of 113 seats. As of now the majority mark is 112 as the polling was held in 222 seats. The BJP on its own has 104 seats and was on Wednesday evening invited by the Governor to form the government, and prove majority on the floor of the House within 15 days.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X