• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka likely to get 3 deputy chief ministers today


Bengaluru, Aug 26: Karnataka Chief Minister, B S Yediyurappa is likely to allocate portfolios to the newly sworn in ministers.

There is speculation that Karnataka may get three deputy chief ministers. The three deputies are likely to be Govind Karjol, Ashwath Narayan and Laxman Savadi. In addition to this the trio are likely to get portfolios such as Irrigation, Transport and PWD.

File Karnataka Chief Minister, B S Yediyurappa

Karjol, it may be recalled was the first to take oath, when Yediyurappa inducted the ministers on August 20. They were followed by Ashwath Narayan and Savadi.

While Yediyurappa was not in favour of having deputy chief ministers, seniors within the party were insistent. The top leadership is keen on building a second rung of leaders in Karnataka.

Settle portfolio or face elections: Message to Yediyurappa from BJP top brass

On August 20, 17 MLAs were sworn in as ministers into the Yediyurappa cabinet. Former chief minister, Jagadish Shettar and former deputy chief minister, R Ashoka were part of the list.

The others who part of the list are Govind Karjol, Dr. Ashwath Narayan, K S Eswharappa, B Sreeramulu, Suresh Kumar, V Somanna, C T Ravi, Basavaraj Bommai, K Shrinivas Poojari, J C Madhu Swamy, C C Patil, H Nagesh, Prabhu Chuhan and J Shashikala Annasaheb.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more