• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka elections: List of Congress MLAs who did not get a ticket


There was a banner of revolt within the Congress after the party released the first list of candidates for the Karnataka assembly elections. In the list of 218 candidates, as many as 12 sitting MLAs were not given tickets.

Karnataka elections: List of Congress MLAs who did not get a ticket

The high command took into account various factors such as age, health and winnability while denying these candidates a ticket.

Karnataka elections: The sons of these Congress leaders will contest polls

The revolt, in fact, began even before the list was announced. The supporters of sitting MLA, G H Srinivas, Manohar Tashsildar and H P Rajesh shouted slogans against the party for not giving their leader a ticket. In Hangal, Haveri district, supporters of Tahasildar set many tyres on fire and blocked the traffic movement in the town.

List of Congress sitting MLAs who were denied a ticket:

  • B M Nagaraj (Siraguppa)
  • N Y Gopalakrishna (Ballari)
  • H P Rajesh (Jagalur)
  • Shivamurthy Naik (Mayakonda)
  • G H Srinivas (Tarikere)
  • K Shadakshari (Tiptur)
  • S Jayanna (Kollegal)
  • B B Chimmankatti (Badami)
  • Makbul S Baghwan (Vijayapura City)
  • R Ramakrishna (Gulbarga Rural)
  • Manohar Tahasildar (Hangal)
  • B N Shivannavar (Byadgi)
Karnataka Assembly Election dates
Date of notification April 17
Last date to file nominations April 24
Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
Date of polling May 12
Date of counting May 15

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X