• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka elections: Congress retains 107 out of 122 sitting MLAs in candidate list


In the first list of candidates released by the Congress for the Karnataka assembly elections, the party has re-nominated at least 90 per cent of the sitting MLAs.

Read | Click here for Karnataka Elections 2018 Special Page

Karnataka elections: Congress retains 107 out of 122 sitting MLAs in candidate list

107 out of the 122 sitting MLAs have been re-nominated in the list of 218 that was released by the party on Sunday after it missed two deadlines. The remaining candidates would be declared today. The party has kept the names of three sitting MLAs pending while 8 party hoppers have been issued tickets.

Karnataka elections: List of Congress MLAs who did not get a ticket

The key highlight is that Chief Minister, Siddaramaiah would contest only from Chamundeshwari. It was speculated that he would also contest from Badami. Karnataka Congress chief, Dr. G Parameshwar would contest from the Koratagere constituency where he had lost in 2013.

The list bore the stamp of Siddaramaiah who managed to push through his loyalists. The list also included the name of Ashok Khenny, the south Bidar MLA.

Karnataka elections: The children of these Congress leaders will contest polls

The party put on hold the name of N A Haris who is a sitting MLA from Shanthinagar in Bengaluru. He was in the news for the wrong reasons after his son was involved in a brawl. There is speculation that Rizwan Arshad may be given this seat.

Karnataka Assembly Election dates
Date of notification April 17
Last date to file nominations April 24
Last date to withdraw nominations April 27
Date of polling May 12
Date of counting May 15

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X