• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka bypolls: Congress finalises candidates for Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Sira constituencies


Bengaluru, Oct 07: Congress names TB Jayachandra and Kusuma Hanumantharayappa as party's candidates for by-elections to the legislative assembly constituencies of Sira and Rajarajeshwarinagar, respectively.

Karnataka bypolls: Congress finalises candidates for Rajarajeshwari Nagar, Sira constituencies

Sira in Tumakuru district along with Rajarajeshwari Nagar (R R Nagar) segment in the city will go for bypolls on November 3, for which the election notification will be issued on October 9.

The last date for filing of nomination is October 16 and the counting of votes will take place on November 10.

Only bypoll winners to be made Ministers; Cabinet expansion by month-end: BSY

The Congress is banking on Kusuma, 31, to win and the party's poll managers say her candidature might swing the November 3 election. Kusuma was the wife of IAS officer DK Ravi, who died in March 2015.

According to the Congress poll managers, Rajarajeshwari Nagar has some 4.8 lakh voters of whom one lakh are Vokkaligas, 70,000 Dalits, 70,000 OBCs, 50,000 Kurubas, 45,000 Lingayats and 25,000 Muslims.

With Munirathna as its candidate, the Congress had won Rajarajeshwari Nagar in 2018. Last year, however, Munirathna was disqualified and he later joined the BJP, necessitating this bypoll.

Meanwhile, the Congress has already announced that it will be fielding former Minister T B Jayachandra as party candidate from Sira.

Jayachandra had represented the constituency twice in 2008 and 2013, by defeating JD(S)' Sathyanarayana, who in turn had defeated him in the 2018 assembly polls.

    Shaheen Bagh case: SC says can't occupy public space indefinitely | Oneindia News

    WB BJP chief Dilip Ghosh likely to review Assembly bypoll result on Saturday

    The Congress and JD(S) are traditional rivals for the seat, which the BJP has never won.

    If BJP fields a strong candidate, the by-election is likely to see a three-cornered contest.

    The saffron party is yet to announce its candidate for the seat, and the state leadership has sent its recommendations to the BJP high command.

    For Daily Alerts
    Get Instant News Updates
    Notification Settings X
    Time Settings
    Clear Notification X
    Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
    Settings X