• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Bypoll results: JDS wins Mandya by record margin


Bengaluru, Nov 6: Janata Dal (Secular) retained Mandya Lok Sabha seat for the third time in a row. JDS candidate LR Shivarame Gowda defeated BJP's Dr. Siddaramaiah in the Mandya LS byelections. Shivarame Gowda polled 5,69,347 votes. BJP candidate Siddaramaiah got 2,44,404 votes.

 Janata Dal (Secular) candidate L Shivarame Gowda

JD(S)' LR Shivaramegowda wins Mandya parliamentary seat with a margin of 3,24,943 votes. Shivarame Gowda won by a historic margin breaking the previous record held by former minister MH Ambareesh.

The bypoll was held after JDS MP C.S.Puttaraju vacated the seat to contest in the Karnataka assembly elections.

Karnataka Bypoll results: Congress registers massive victory in Bellary

Mandya saw the lowest voter turnout at 53.93%, down from 71.41% in 2014, in all the parliamentary and assembly seats. Mandya, at the heart of the Vokkaliga belt of southern Karnataka, was expected to be a cakewalk for the ruling Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition, but Congress' decision to leave the seat for the JD(S) as part of their seat-sharing arrangement, led to dissidence within the party coming in to the open.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more